Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2004, 06:39 PM
slangification slangification is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 765
Default Recording w/Ableton Live

When PT is synced w/Ableton Live in OSX via ReWire, does anyone know how you can record (into Live or PT) so you can hear Ableton effects in realtime on the signal being recorded?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2004, 11:13 PM
myshell myshell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Default Re: Recording w/Ableton Live

I am not sure if this is the answer you're looking for...but if you want to record audio from Ableton Live you have to create another track in Pro Tools and bus the audio from the track which has Live to the new track. The effects that come with Live should work but any VST plug-ins that you might have will not work if Live is sync'd through Rewire with Pro Tools. I hope this helps.

Myshell
__________________
http://www.nukina.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:36 AM
toolskid666 toolskid666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 26
Default Re: Recording w/Ableton Live

if you open the rewire (in this case Ableton) plugin on an audio track, create a pre-fader send to any bus and then set the track's input to that bus, you will be able to record and playback on that track alone!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:21 PM
ashdot ashdot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Posts: 206
Default Re: Recording w/Ableton Live

If I understand you correctly, you'd like to use Live's effects on recorded audio.

Since Live has some unique effects, what I sometimes do is record the audio into protools and then import the recorded audio file into a Live track. Apply the desired effect and since you're synced via Rewire, you can hear that effected audio in PT.

Izhar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2004, 05:31 AM
slangification slangification is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 765
Default Re: Recording w/Ableton Live

Quote:
If I understand you correctly, you'd like to use Live's effects on recorded audio.

Since Live has some unique effects, what I sometimes do is record the audio into protools and then import the recorded audio file into a Live track. Apply the desired effect and since you're synced via Rewire, you can hear that effected audio in PT.

Izhar
The problem with this method is that you cannot hear the Live effects as you're recording. If you're recording, say, a guitar, you would play and react differently if you're hearing the effects as you record. Adding the effects later is a whole different deal.

I'm just wondering if this is possible. It seems like the way the two programs are set up to work together that it is not possible.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:24 AM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Re: Recording w/Ableton Live

I also am confused as to how to make Live work as a live effects and looping tool with or without Pro Tools. The kind of thing I am talking about is the looping boxes such as the green line 6 box guitar players use where they can grab a loop and then layer ontop of it. It seems that the only software based version of this is the Polar thing in Digital Performer.
It would be cool to have a software looper boxd with footswitch accessible effects.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
playing live, ableton live best option? shabbar3 Pro Tools 9 0 07-11-2013 05:22 PM
Ableton Live - performing/recording live w/HD3 Surth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-11-2006 04:50 AM
Recording into Pro Tools from Ableton Live siggy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-20-2005 07:46 PM
Recording Ableton Live in loop mode? wizdoom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-21-2004 08:45 PM
Ableton Live Plastik909 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-22-2003 09:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com