Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2021, 04:20 PM
santanamarkblue@yahoo.com santanamarkblue@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: 11700 Duchess Dr
Posts: 1
Default Mixing in Pro tools

When download samples or audio sound do you create a folder separate from the hard drive and put it on your desktop or screen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2021, 08:49 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,313
Default Re: Mixing in Pro tools

Don't put your work on the desktop, because when you boot the computer, it has to load every file on the desktop(which slows down boot time by a lot). To really get the best answer, consider a few things:
1-the purpose of the downloaded file. If its to use in 1 particular session, I would move the file into that session folder and import from there(there are a few reasons for this, but suffice to say, you will always know where that file is(every one of us has misplaced files before we learn some hard lessons).
2-If the file is to be used in many projects, I would create a folder for samples(preferably on a separate drive) and copy FROM that location into any sessions that need that clip.
3-regarding drives in general, if your computer only has a single drive, it should be an SSD for best performance(many laptops use a 5400 rpm spinner, which is too slow for any serious recording. A 7200 rpm drive is better, but with an SSD, its feasible to record with only a single drive(no matter what drive you record to, you need to back everything up on a regular basis unless you don't mind losing your recordings)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DJ mixing in pro tools dsonic715 Pro Tools 10 2 08-26-2012 09:35 PM
5.1 mixing Pro Tools 10 mbt.fair Pro Tools 10 3 04-23-2012 04:29 AM
Mixing Pop In Pro Tools nod25 General Discussion 2 08-07-2009 12:34 AM
5.1 Mixing for Pro Tools LE torquemada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-26-2007 02:18 PM
Pro Tools Mixing exegesis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-04-2003 05:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com