Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2023, 09:43 AM
RHKfilm RHKfilm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: California
Posts: 3
Default Tempo/Beat Detective not honoring 2/2 meter

Hi,

I set a measure to a meter of 2/2 using beat detective but the functionality is broken. The click and the generated tempo still calculate and operate in 4/4.

For instance, if I make a 1 measure selection and use beat detective to assign that section the following:
Start Bar/Beat 86 | 1
End Bar/Beat 87 | 1
Time Signature 2/2

Then click Generate, it doesn't adjust the timeline correctly. The timeline will show the selection ending halfway through Bar 86. This despite the meter display showing as 2/2 and the click following the meter.

Am I expecting too much of PT? I want to be able to insert any meter and tempo for any measure but I have experienced nothing but bugs whenever I try such trickery.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2023, 02:35 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 215
Default Re: Tempo/Beat Detective not honoring 2/2 meter

I don't know about beat detective so not much help there. But 2/2 = 4/4. The note values stay the same either way and so would the 1/4-note resolution of the click or grid, which I think you would need to change elsewhere. Does that make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2023, 08:47 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,389
Default Re: Tempo/Beat Detective not honoring 2/2 meter

Beat Detective is for generating tempo events - IIRC (it's been a bit since I was in the BD dialog) the bar/beat/meter entries in Beat Detective are for setting the analysis range. Meter events should be entered in the meter ruler.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
Mac Studio / Ventura, PT 2023.12.HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock
Also running a Mac Studio Ultra / Ventura / HDX / MTRX / S6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tempo mapping Beat Detective or identify beat? grateful 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-14-2012 09:13 PM
beat detective and tempo kevinsimons 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-26-2009 04:57 AM
Beat Detective, Beat markers to Tempo Ruler?!? phobia Tips & Tricks 3 01-01-2007 01:31 PM
Using Beat Detective with Tempo Changes WStarnes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-05-2006 11:22 AM
Beat Detective/Tempo Changes jeff...ya know...jeff Tips & Tricks 3 01-22-2003 06:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com