Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2022, 12:03 PM
NickSoundAuthentic NickSoundAuthentic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4
Default Anyone try M2 yet?

Hey everyone, currently running a M1 Mac mini just fine with Pro Tools, but will be getting a MacBook Pro 14 or 16 as the portability is becoming more important to me. I don't think I'd be able to make this move until the M2's are likely out for those models.

So, my question is that if anyone is running PT 2022 on an M2 Air or M2 MBP 13 currently and if there are any issues.

I know the cusp of tech is always kinda of sketchy for PT so would everyone suggest I scramble and find the cash for the current M1 Pro/Ultra series?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2022, 12:45 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,136
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

I have a fully loaded M1 mac mini here and waiting for a fully loaded M2 macbook air in few weeks. Sorry, have nothing to report but the bottleneck currently seems to be lack of native software.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2022, 01:37 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 957
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I have a fully loaded M1 mac mini here and waiting for a fully loaded M2 macbook air in few weeks. Sorry, have nothing to report but the bottleneck currently seems to be lack of native software.
Hey Janne. Though I'm currently using a 12th gen Windows system, I'm seriously attracted to the M2 because of the amazing reviews I've seen about M1. i seriously believe Apple Silicon is the way forward. How have you found your M1?

I know usage differs. Do you use lots of Midi and VIs? I do, and PT doesn't always co-operate. Guys who use audio exclusively usually have the best experience with PT. Even if you don't, my research has led me to believe that Apple Silicon is extremely efficient. PT is inefficient with CPU (compared with most other DAWs), so that always leads me to look for the most powerful systems available, to compensate.

Any useful information about this?
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2022, 09:36 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,136
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Most useful information I might share is that it seems Apple Silicon only requires half the memory footprint you have used to waste on Intels. In other words this 16GB memory behaves just as good as 32GB Intel.

It makes sense because memory is so much faster so you don't need to spend it on caching. It also does not make sense becuse you would think a library takes as much memory as it takes. A mystery...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2022, 03:22 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 957
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Most useful information I might share is that it seems Apple Silicon only requires half the memory footprint you have used to waste on Intels. In other words this 16GB memory behaves just as good as 32GB Intel.

It makes sense because memory is so much faster so you don't need to spend it on caching. It also does not make sense becuse you would think a library takes as much memory as it takes. A mystery...
I've come across this before and I asked the question here some time ago, but I was told it wasn't so. I believe you because I've read it in many places. You don't use Windows at all, do you? How do you compare your M1's performance against the other macs you've used?
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2022, 04:21 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
I've come across this before and I asked the question here some time ago, but I was told it wasn't so. I believe you because I've read it in many places. You don't use Windows at all, do you? How do you compare your M1's performance against the other macs you've used?
FWIW; I went from a i7 3,2mHz Mac Mini (2018) 32GB to a M1 mini 16GB 7 months ago. I tried out sessions between them, and tried to get a unscientific realworld sense of the difference in performance. I can't prove this in any way, but I came to the conclusion that the M1 gave me about 1.6 times the audio realtime processing power of the intel. It's the biggest jump in power I've experienced in over three decades with macs! (Added: I'm talking strictly PT performance, and this is running PT in Rosetta2. I haven't even bothered to try any apple silicon native DAW.)

I'm also happy with 16GB memory, but I'm mostly mixing audio. I can tell you that I can run a PT session and Adobe Lightroom, which is more ram hungry than PT, without a hitch. The memory might run into the yellow in Activitymonitor, but everything is cool. This is with lots of things in the background, browser, streaming etc. It just seems like the 'system-on-a-chip' ram handling works in a different way… It's good.

I know nothing about the M2, except what I read; it seems it's built on the M1, same clock speed, more cores, and can access more ram. The clue here is; we've always known that single core performance is clue to realtime audio processing, and the cores in M1 and M2 are basically the same.

They say the "M3" will be a 3 nanometer design, and therefore more potent than the 5nm M1/2.


(Edit; I'm sorry, I keep adding to this post; I mentioned Lightroom; I have a catalogue with 8000 something RAW images. All loading up different size previews in memory, and while on the i7 intel I'd get used to the odd second or two to wait for screen update of big lists, on the M1: just smoooth sailing. All the time. Perhaps even bigger jump than PT. But then, Lightroom is native. But again; the SOC M1 with the gpu on-chip, I guess that is contributing.)
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 08-16-2022 at 04:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2022, 05:32 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
Hey Janne. Though I'm currently using a 12th gen Windows system, I'm seriously attracted to the M2 because of the amazing reviews I've seen about M1. i seriously believe Apple Silicon is the way forward. How have you found your M1?

I know usage differs. Do you use lots of Midi and VIs? I do, and PT doesn't always co-operate. Guys who use audio exclusively usually have the best experience with PT. Even if you don't, my research has led me to believe that Apple Silicon is extremely efficient. PT is inefficient with CPU (compared with most other DAWs), so that always leads me to look for the most powerful systems available, to compensate.

Any useful information about this?
With specifically the M1 Mac Mini with only 16GB of RAM there’s a good chance you’ll run out of memory if you’re using a lot of VI’s. Regarding the Silicon processor, whether M1, M1 Max, M1 Pro, or M2, you are good to go. Apple now has systems which allow you to add more RAM. You will not experience the more “efficient” RAM usage in Pro Tools until Pro Tools stops relying on Rosetta 2 to run.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2022, 05:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
With specifically the M1 Mac Mini with only 16GB of RAM there’s a good chance you’ll run out of memory if you’re using a lot of VI’s.
That's so not specific, I think it's not very informative.
Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Regarding the Silicon processor, whether M1, M1 Max, M1 Pro, or M2, you are good to go. Apple now has systems which allow you to add more RAM.
Wow. Please tell, what's changed with ram upgrades!
Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
You will not experience the more “efficient” RAM usage in Pro Tools until Pro Tools stops relying on Rosetta 2 to run.
And how do you know this?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2022, 06:26 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
That's so not specific, I think it's not very informative.

Not exactly sure how it’s not informative, but whatever

Wow. Please tell, what's changed with ram upgrades!

Umm, specifically you cannot purchase an M1 Mac Mini with anything more than 16GB. The other Apple silicon offerings can all be ordered with up to 64GB depending on the machine chosen.


And how do you know this?

Real world experience using Native apps that were previously running under Rosetta 2. Went from using more RAM under Rosetta to less RAM as Native apps.

At this point it’s highly speculative that PT will behave with the same efficiency but it’s likely it will be more efficient as a Native App. Particularly the AVE, in my opinion.
P.S. why are you so reactive to my comments? Did you take them personally? If you have conflicting information, by all means, please share it. The more info people have the better it will be for everyone looking to upgrade systems. I only share what my experience has been since using the M1 Mac Mini with Pro Tools professionally as of March 2021.

Last edited by its2loud; 08-16-2022 at 06:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2022, 06:28 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,441
Default Re: Anyone try M2 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Regarding the Silicon processor, whether M1, M1 Max, M1 Pro, or M2, you are good to go. Apple now has systems which allow you to add more RAM.
I'm assuming you mean that you can preconfigure the Apple Silicon Macs with a higher amount of RAM at time of purchase. The RAM is part of the SOC architecture and not a separate memory module or sticks or RAM.

So, "you" cannot "add" more RAM. You must buy the system with the Apple Silicon with all the RAM you'll ever be able to use on that computer. The RAM is not user upgradeable.

When the Mac Pro goes Apple Silicon, we'll see what apple does in regard to RAM expansion. Perhaps a secondary level RAM that is not as fast as the onboard primary RAM on the SOC.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.9

Last edited by Obsidian Dragon; 08-17-2022 at 11:49 AM. Reason: fixed typo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com