Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2022, 09:04 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,441
Default Pro Tools 2022.7 is out now

I just downloaded it but have not installed yet. I'm finishing a small project first so I didn't want to introduce a new version yet. I'm still on 2022.5.

Any reports of issues? I know the MIDI bugs in 2022.6 were supposed to be fixed with this release.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2022, 10:29 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 959
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
I just downloaded it but have not installed yet. I'm finishing a small project first so I didn't want to introduce a new version yet. I'm still on 2022.5.

Any reports of issues? I know the MIDI bugs in 2022.6 were supposed to be fixed with this release.
Not fixed. Maybe it's even worse now.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2022, 11:59 PM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 526
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

How are things worse?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2022, 03:15 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 959
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
How are things worse?
I didn't try 2022.6 because of the MIDI bug reports, so maybe its not really worse. I don't want to hijack this thread, so I've started another one with what I discovered. Please take a look at that...
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2022, 03:39 AM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 595
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

They fix things and they breake others...man....
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS Monterey 12.4 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2022, 03:46 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 959
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
They fix things and they breake others...man....
Can we call that 'Pro'?
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2022, 04:02 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 526
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

nothing is posted. please elaborate.


thanks,


ej
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2022, 02:28 AM
take77 take77 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 428
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

After doing some tests in 2022.7 with both a previous session and a brand new session, I can say that I wasn't able to repro any of the odd MIDI behavior in the brand new session.

However, when conducting tests in a previous session (2022.6) with MIDI imported from a previous version, I can repro bugs right off.*
So I think the new MIDI engine just doesn't coincide with previous MIDI session data?

I did all kinds of tests in the new session. I even quantized a bunch of clips on various instrument tracks all crazy, inserted random tempos and cut & insert time.
All of which I can't do in sessions with PREVIOUS MIDI data.

I will add that, I was in grid mode and that none of the MIDI clips were recorded into PT.
For my test, I just dragged & dropped a bunch of drum loops on multiple tracks and manually entered odd patterns of varying note lengths in the editor.
Carried out a bunch of test tasks with quantize & velocity, duplicating, consolidating, trimming splitting clips, Alt + dragging clips etc

My session test in 2022.7 was at a 44.1kHz sample rate.
And my instrument tracks were in tick mode and the Master fader and main timeline at the default sample mode.

I was able to do all these random things for some time without any issue.
I was actually elated because things finally worked the way I've wanted after waiting 2 years for the sample rounding fix.

*The first and main test in 2022.7 that failed happened only when opening PREVIOUS MIDI session data:

I simply selected a random clip from the timeline (4 Instrument tracks active).

Then Alt+click & dragged the clip across the timeline.

As I dragged the clip down the timeline, I watched the green bar length indicator change from 8 bars to 7 (& some change) at some points as I dragged it across the timeline. And sure enough, when the sample rounding issue occurred, so did the unable to select MIDI notes issue.
But only with MIDI data from a previous version was I able to repro.

The newly created session in 2022.7 enabled me to do my usual tasks and carry out these tasks to an extreme. Randomly modifying MIDI clips on every track.
After which, I was able to drag random clips across the timeline with no change in the length indicator.
No issues selecting, trimming note lengths, cutting & inserting, consolidating or duplicating so far in a new session.

Nevertheless, the MIDI clips have created (or dropped in) fresh in 2022.7 for me to work unhindered.
Meaning, no re-importing session data/tracks from a previous session as this re-imports the problem.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.9|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory

Last edited by take77; 07-30-2022 at 04:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2022, 04:02 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 959
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by take77 View Post
After doing some tests in 2022.7 with both a previous session and a brand new session, I can say that I wasn't able to repro any of the odd MIDI behavior in the brand new session.

However, when conducting tests in a previous session (2022.6) with MIDI imported from a previous version, I can repro bugs right off.*
So I think the new MIDI engine just doesn't coincide with previous MIDI session data?

I did all kinds of tests in the new session. I even quantized a bunch of clips on various instrument tracks all crazy, inserted random tempos and cut & insert time.
All of which I can't do in sessions with PREVIOUS MIDI data.

I will add that I was in grid mode and that none of the MIDI clips were recorded into PT.
For my test I just dragged n dropped a bunch of drum loops on multiple tracks and manually created odd patterns in the editor.
Carried out a bunch of test tasks with quantize & velocity, duplicating, consolidating, trimming splitting clips, Alt + dragging clips etc

My session test in 2022.7 was also at a 44.1kHz sample rate.
And my instrument tracks were in tick mode and the Master fader and main timeline at the default sample mode.


*The very first test in 2022.7 that failed when opening PREVIOUS MIDI session data:

I simply selected a random clip from the timeline (4 Instrument tracks active).

Then Alt+click & dragged the clip across the timeline.

As I dragged the clip down the timeline I watched the green length indicator change from 8 bars to 7 (& some change) as I dragged it across the timeline. And sure enough, when the sample rounding issue occurred, so did the unable to select MIDI notes issue.
But only with MIDI data from a previous version was I able to repro.

The newly created session in 2022.7 enabled me to do my usual tasks and carry out these tasks to an extreme. Randomly modifying MIDI clips on every tack.
After which I was able to drag random clips across the timeline with no change in the length indicator.
No issues selecting, trimming note lengths or cutting & inserting so far in a new session.

So the MIDI has to be created fresh in 2022.7 for me to work unhindered.
Thanks for the info from your extensive testing. There's something I'd to ask: Apart from the midi stuff is there anything different in 22.6/22.7 from 22.5?
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2022, 09:08 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 371
Default Re: Protools 2022.7 is out now.

Any reports from users still running Mojave?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2022.6 won't launch Scheak80 Windows 5 07-27-2022 09:15 AM
Pro Tools 2022.6 with Avid Control 2022.4 stargazer Pro Tools 2 07-01-2022 07:32 AM
MP3 Conversion Quality with Pro Tools 2022 x Pro Tools HD10.3.10 Alécio Costa Pro Tools 4 06-01-2022 11:58 AM
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 03:59 AM
Pro Tools Subforum - 2022 or ? Tweakhead General Discussion 22 05-02-2022 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com