Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-12-2022, 09:39 AM
peapodpost peapodpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: NYC
Posts: 71
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

DNX files here working fine, and I didn't even have to install the Avid Codecs like we used to.

But - my files are in .MOV wrapper not .MXF, maybe that's the difference?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-12-2022, 11:29 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,703
Default Re: Is Pro Tools compatible with Monterey 12.5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
Thank you
Though these links are just the forum, it says nothing on the official Avid compatibility chart.
Once approved they'll add it to the compatibility chart. If it's not there it's not approved.

It's been working fine for me, however.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-12-2022, 02:09 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 208
Default Re: Is Pro Tools compatible with Monterey 12.5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Once approved they'll add it to the compatibility chart. If it's not there it's not approved.

It's been working fine for me, however.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-12-2022, 02:10 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 208
Default Re: Is Pro Tools compatible with Monterey 12.5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
No, that's because it hasn't been qualified (i.e. tested and approved) by Avid.
But that should be quite clear from those threads.
Thank you, I will wait till its approved on the Avid site.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-19-2022, 01:17 PM
Nick Cipriano Nick Cipriano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon / NYC
Posts: 7
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

Apple has issued an urgent security alert to update all apple devices to the latest. Only way you can get it on Monterey seems to be to go up to 12.5.1 unless anyone is seeing otherwise?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-19-2022, 09:13 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 863
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Cipriano View Post
Apple has issued an urgent security alert to update all apple devices to the latest. Only way you can get it on Monterey seems to be to go up to 12.5.1 unless anyone is seeing otherwise?
DUC technical alert just issued that the Apple 12.5.1 update/fix is now qualified for Pro Tools 2022.7.

Here!
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-20-2022, 07:52 AM
devinemke's Avatar
devinemke devinemke is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 88
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

yep, new DUC Technical Alert as well as updated Pro Tools Operating System Compatibility Chart, so macOS 12.5.1 is now officially Avid blessed.
just updated yesterday, so far so good.
__________________
Devin Emke
Audio Post Production Engineer
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-21-2022, 07:44 AM
glasswing glasswing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver Island b.c. Canada
Posts: 197
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

I had a somewhat frightening hour or two upgrading to 12.5.1 (from 12.3) and 2022.7.1 (from 2021.12) but then everything seemed to settle down and work quite well. Installation was painless. No hoops required to install HD Driver etc. I'm not real sure what was up during the weirdness. I was trying to resurrect two pretty thick with VI and plugin projects I did in Jan/Feb this year. In the chaos I was trying different versions of those sessions. It's possible some of those sessions had been corrupted at the time - I can't remember.
They were done on the old cheese grater system which was in its death throes at that point. Constant crashing and beachballs at the time. The big plugins were killing it.
The good news is it works great - the bad news is there were a few inexplicable train wrecks on the way.
I'm hoping to go back today and look at some of those troubling sessions and see if they still act strange today. I suspect they were damaged remnants of the old cheese grater's last days horror show - no fault of the updates.
Will report back more today - hopefully. it's a very busy time on our farm - organic blueberries / harvest time.
__________________
Mac Studio Ultra / 128 RAM/2TB HD / Avid HDX Chassis / 2 X Sonnet Echo Dual NVMe Thunderbolt Docks w Samsung 970 EVO Plus (6TB) / Avid C24 / Avid 16X16 I/O Analog / Lynx Aurora 16/16 1/O Analog / Dangerous 2 Bus / Benchmark ADC1
www.glasswing.com
www.richardsales.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-22-2022, 12:45 PM
glasswing glasswing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver Island b.c. Canada
Posts: 197
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

Update - something happened during one of the various crashes with my old cheese grater that made all the audio tracks elastic audio! Go figure. That of course would have blown my old system to bits - esp with all the tanker VI's and chunky plugins running.

My final verdict on Monterey 12.5.1 and PT 2022.7 is that it works well so far. More experiments are needed. Yesterday I had some problems editing MIDI notes but that seems okay now. Not sure why - or even how that can be but it's true.
__________________
Mac Studio Ultra / 128 RAM/2TB HD / Avid HDX Chassis / 2 X Sonnet Echo Dual NVMe Thunderbolt Docks w Samsung 970 EVO Plus (6TB) / Avid C24 / Avid 16X16 I/O Analog / Lynx Aurora 16/16 1/O Analog / Dangerous 2 Bus / Benchmark ADC1
www.glasswing.com
www.richardsales.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-22-2022, 02:09 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,577
Default Re: macOS Monterey 12.5

Mac OS 12.5.1 HD Native in an OWC Helios expansion chassis PT Ultimate 2022.7 MacPro 2013 with 64 GB of RAM. I was mixing all day Friday. 8 hrs, Zero problems.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2022.5 M1Max macOS 12.4 Monterey Won't Load Just Phab Pro Tools 14 06-30-2022 02:05 AM
EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey Mixmaster Rick Pro Tools 3 06-23-2022 01:30 PM
Avid Quartet and macOS Monterey gng75 Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 0 04-24-2022 05:41 PM
macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported! DerrickC Pro Tools 62 04-01-2022 01:31 AM
Mbox3 pro MacOs Monterey SIP suggested Madsvigeholm macOS 5 12-28-2021 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com