Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-08-2022, 05:15 PM
Mountclear Mountclear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: tn
Posts: 6
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

After woking with midi all day this is a BIG problem = Makes working with midi almost impossible at times. There needs to be a patch fix for this asap.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-08-2022, 07:08 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 282
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

Indeed. 'Been experiencing that as well!
__________________
PT Ultimate 2022.6
PT HDX
MacPro 7,1
16 Core
96 GB ram
macOS Monterey 12.5.1
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-08-2022, 07:52 PM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 523
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

Thank you all for posting this...I was just about to install 2022.6. I will for sure wait, as I do all of my midi in pt these days. I am so very glad I checked this before i did the installation


Ej
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-08-2022, 09:34 PM
jlf37 jlf37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: California USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleinlich View Post
I have exactly the same problem with the midi notes after quantization in Pro Tools 2022.6, but in Windows 10.
After quantize most of the midi notes can no longer be selected, edited or deleted and are duplicated. This is very annoying.
I'll go back to an older version too.
same problem(s) here. very frustrating. rolling on back...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-09-2022, 04:43 AM
Evil Jack Evil Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 504
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

You have to ask how this makes it to release....
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-09-2022, 08:58 AM
blinches blinches is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: NYC
Posts: 21
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

You ask yourself who are the actual beta testers. Probably none, or old folks who don't really stress test the systems. Also MIDI isn't top priority in PT so they just kinda let it slip.

Another thought this issue brings to mind is whenever PT does get Native Apple silicon support, how many issues will that bring? seems like this release was focused on fixing a lot of MIDI stuff as well, but at the same time broke it.

I am so pessimistic on Avid's apple silicon compatability, I am actually betting on two years min. for making it a stable platform AFTER initial release. and two years actually makes it not sustainable, and that correlates to their sub system, they have it in their best interest to keep some things broken so you will be tied to their update system, which for some reason correlates to months? (2022.5) instead of real software versions like Ableton (11.6.1) so they really postpone fixing stuff. I have to roll back and use old software to be stable and wait until WHO knows when...

/rant over
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-09-2022, 09:34 AM
Novae Studios Novae Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

Yes, I have the same bug in 2022.6. Very annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-09-2022, 11:31 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 523
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

Avid where are you guys???


This issue is very important to those of us who produce and compose in pro tools. You guys would not allow a bug this blatant on the audio side, would you?


As previously suggested, please get more beta testers who are really using your products to create...not just mix.


Crap...i'll volunteer, as I'm sure would others here, if this helps to prevent things like this from reoccurring and slipping through the cracks.



Many on this thread have been with you for a long tlme. Me, since v5 (2001) so we know what we are doing by now and our fealty should go without question...especially considering all of the various avid transformations.




ej
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-09-2022, 02:27 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 388
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

I just tried this and although I've mostly transitioned to Nuendo, I still get PT sessions and have stubborn faith Avid will get their **** together one day.

I couldn't repeat the midi note problem. I placed a single note on the editor, selected it, quantized it and was able to move it around at will. I switched between slip and grid, quantized multiple times, but couldn't break it.

So far midi editing is working as advertised for me --- unless I'm doing it wrong.

tg
__________________
Mac Studio (2022) M1 MAX / 64GB / 2TB HD / macOS Monterey 12.4 / RME BabyFace Pro FS / SSL UF8 + UC1 / Yamaha MODX6 / Komplete S61 / Keylab 61 mkII / Pro Tools Studio 2022.9 / Nuendo 12 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 13 / Omnisphere / Keyscape / Trilian / V Collection 9

Last edited by grayter1; 07-09-2022 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-10-2022, 09:03 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,853
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountclear View Post
I'm having this issue as well - not able to select a note - It will play the note sound, but I can't edit velocity, extend or move the note. This has happened where there are many midi blocks in the track - Once I consolidate it fixes it - but a HUGE pain. It always seem like its 2 steps forward 3 back with PTs. I also just had an issue where I couldn't delete a midi note.
Same exact issue
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't select midi notes after trimming midi clip jpbm22 Pro Tools 2 08-28-2022 03:53 PM
Quantizing is muting midi notes rickbail Pro Tools 12 3 10-09-2018 05:47 AM
mass select of notes in midi editor stainless MIDI 4 08-20-2010 08:00 PM
MIDI Select/Split Notes - Assertion in PT8 gonzolagonda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-18-2009 05:34 AM
MIDI "Select notes" tool problem GeneOuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 04-27-2005 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com