Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2022, 10:17 AM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 86
Default How can I setup a 4.1 system?

Hi all,

How might one set up a 4.1 audio monitoring system via an audio mixer? 4.1 I understand is L, R, then Back L, Back R, then the subwoofer.

Is it okay to duplicate the forward and backward speaker channels, or do they need to be separated into separate channels like in a 5.1 system?

I have an audio demuxer coming out of a video SDI cable, then I want to patch the 4 channels out of the demuxer to a mixer that can output to all of my 4 speakers + sub. What sort of mixer do I need to output 4.1? All the mixers I see online only have stereo outputs.

Thanks in advance, apologies for my basic understanding.
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2022, 12:30 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,288
Default Re: How can I setup a 4.1 system?

Hmm, no offense is intended, but......why? What is the end game here? What would the point be of duplicating the front to the rear? Of course, I will bow to the expertise of those that work in surround, or maybe you have very specific needs that I don't understand, but your whole question raises many more questions for me

On the most basic level, you need PT Ultimate(to handle surround) and an interface that has at least 5 outputs(for your 4.1 target). Then, the final deliverable will likely need to be 5.1(even if you choose to put nothing on the center channel). Maybe more detail will get better answers
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2022, 01:19 PM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 86
Default Re: How can I setup a 4.1 system?

As you've rightly identified my understanding of 5.1 is zero. ha!
Thanks for this response.
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2022, 07:34 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,495
Default Re: How can I setup a 4.1 system?

Quad (4) , a mixer that has 4 outs.
Stereo Main plus 2 aux sending to surrounds.
Dot 1 (.1) for low effects
Or
Subs extending bass response
Also needs to be defined.

For .1 add one more aux out.


Panning is another topic.

Live use or other?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Requirements and full System Setup MadDogRunner Windows 2 02-25-2013 05:44 PM
OLD system, new setup ... HELP GroovyDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 06-17-2008 02:43 PM
888/24 setup on mix system rmeuchel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 04-05-2006 10:06 AM
I/o setup on mix system PT 5.1.3 sukks2bu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-13-2005 08:04 AM
System setup VILLADON Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-05-2001 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com