Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2022, 08:00 AM
DozeMusic DozeMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Hello,


I have MXFs from MC I need to relink in PT Studio 2022.7 (tried with .5 also). They have the exact same names, different Ids, so I've checked "find by name" only. They are not the original MXFs from the AAF, because the original ones didn't have the metadata from the recorder.

Pro-Tools won't relink them. It relinked a small bunch of them after I tried to link them in the exact same way 100 times before. Then another time it linked half of the MXFs of the whole project and stopped there. Since then it doesn't ink anything.

We are 2 months late on production because of this. It's driving us totally crazy we don't know what to do. Please help us!!


Thank you very much. Tell me if you need more information!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2022, 09:38 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,506
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by DozeMusic View Post
Hello,


I have MXFs from MC I need to relink in PT Studio 2022.7 (tried with .5 also). They have the exact same names, different Ids, so I've checked "find by name" only. They are not the original MXFs from the AAF, because the original ones didn't have the metadata from the recorder.

Pro-Tools won't relink them. It relinked a small bunch of them after I tried to link them in the exact same way 100 times before. Then another time it linked half of the MXFs of the whole project and stopped there. Since then it doesn't ink anything.

We are 2 months late on production because of this. It's driving us totally crazy we don't know what to do. Please help us!!

This sometimes happens because the editor did consolidate the files properly and or exported them from his desk without all of the files being in the same folder he gives you. At least I have had that happen with projects coming in as AAF or OMF non embedded as a single file or not consolidated. This happen in that case that the folder was incomplete. That's all I've got on a Sunday. Good luck-:)

G


Thank you very much. Tell me if you need more information!
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.9 Ultimate Native, Avid MTRX, DADMAN MOM MonitoringModule,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.6 Digital Performer 11.2, Logic Pro X 10.7.4/DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors/Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2022, 10:16 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,489
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

I hesitate to suggest this because it feels like such a catch-all unthinking response and it is tedious, but you might have to trash prefs.

I remember a few years ago PT started getting increasingly flaky on linking during a series, initially just not playing ball on a first attempt on a few files until it became totally unworkable. I did all you have done and eventually in desperation I trashed prefs (I may have also got rid of the waveform caches too). Afterwards all was back to normal.

Can’t be sure this is your issue, but if you are desperate enough then it could be worth a try.

The only other strategy would be to try it on a totally different rig. If there’s no security concerns with the material you could ask here if you don’t know anyone personally (and do PM me if you’re desperate.)

Good luck!
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2021 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2022, 01:18 PM
DozeMusic DozeMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Hello Gives, thanks for the insight, I've filed a complaint with the editing department^^

And Noiseboyuk thank you too, but I had no luck with the prefs trashing technique :/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2022, 05:24 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,506
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by DozeMusic View Post
Hello Gives, thanks for the insight, I've filed a complaint with the editing department^^

And Noiseboyuk thank you too, but I had no luck with the prefs trashing technique :/
WOW that sounds serious-:). lol

Anyway, Hope it works out. It's a common mistake. Just ask for more time because you were not provided the materials needed to complete the project.

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.9 Ultimate Native, Avid MTRX, DADMAN MOM MonitoringModule,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.6 Digital Performer 11.2, Logic Pro X 10.7.4/DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors/Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2022, 08:54 AM
DozeMusic DozeMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Still no luck...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2022, 09:02 AM
Kaister Kaister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

I have a similar issue, but with relinking after importing a PT session from another version.

Relinking only works when I have the subfolder containing the file open in the relinking window, and when I have scrolled past all files I need to relink. As soon as the files are displayed, more data seems to be loaded and I can relink most of them with "find by name".

Even then, some files I could only relink via "Find all candidates".
Have you tried that?
__________________
PT Ultimate 2022.7, HDX Thunderbolt 3, MacPro 3 GHz 8-core (Late 2013), Eucon 2022.4, macOS Catalina, Avid S1, Avid Dock, Dolby Atmos Home
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-17-2022, 09:10 AM
dcoffset dcoffset is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: London
Posts: 18
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Can I ask why are you using .mxf?

Is the mxf a container for audio or video clips?

If it's audio then a workaround is to export the AAF with wav (bwf should still carry metadata).

Another option would be to use replace clip - but that might be unworkable if you have lots of clips....
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro | OSX Catalina | PT 2021.6 HDX | DAD AX32
Remote: Macbook Pro | OSX Catalina | PT 2021.6 Ultimate | UAD X8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-17-2022, 09:17 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,506
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcoffset View Post
Can I ask why are you using .mxf?

Is the mxf a container for audio or video clips?

If it's audio then a workaround is to export the AAF with wav (bwf should still carry metadata).

Another option would be to use replace clip - but that might be unworkable if you have lots of clips....

My guess is that they have a bigger show that exceeds the 2GB limit or something so they are using MXF to avoid that? Not sure though. In the past on feature work I make sure they just sent me in sections and then I just import the reels and assemble on my end which is a pain, but I have done that. Also they c could organize everything with less junk you dont' need in the session and just export what the Protools mixer needs for that particular session. There's an idea-:)

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.9 Ultimate Native, Avid MTRX, DADMAN MOM MonitoringModule,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.6 Digital Performer 11.2, Logic Pro X 10.7.4/DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors/Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-17-2022, 09:35 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 930
Default Re: Can't relink in Pro Tools 2022.7

MXF is the native container for Avid MC and what the AAF links to. It could be audio and/or video. In this case it's audio.

The 2GB limit was an old embedded OMF limitation, doesn't apply anymore.

OP I assume you're trying to relink these because you've already started editing the material? So it's not a case where the editor could re-export with the "good" source? Or are you having trouble linking from the start?

These new MXF files are not consolidated and contain the same data as the originals?
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2022.6 with Avid Control 2022.4 stargazer Pro Tools 2 07-01-2022 07:32 AM
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 03:59 AM
Accessing relink window from within Pro Tools Rich Breen Pro Tools 11 4 01-20-2015 04:43 PM
how to relink from inside pro tools? bruce_pianoman Pro Tools 10 2 04-25-2013 12:51 AM
Pro Tools LE System- Missing Audio Files/No Relink Ericka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-21-2006 04:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com