Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #881  
Old 07-17-2022, 11:01 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 621
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

My old ears cannot hear a thing
B
__________________
2022 Mac Studio RME UFX. Neve 5012, Sonic farm Creamer+. 45 years of instruments
Reply With Quote
  #882  
Old 07-18-2022, 01:55 PM
kindkind kindkind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 208
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

I have an m1 max studio and it whines. I believe there are some maxes that do and some that dont. Mine is an annoying, irritating sound that i can hear from over 10 feet away, when the room is quiet, but not silent. Luckily i have it set up very very far away from the recording space. I tweaked the fan rpms down and it helped a bit. Probably going to dump this computer once mac mini m2 pro comes out.
__________________
Mac Studio M1 Max, 32gb, 2022.7 ultimate, HDNTB, Aurora 16 LTHD, 12.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #883  
Old 07-18-2022, 02:38 PM
vaggelis.mak vaggelis.mak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens
Posts: 18
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Yeah but this is really annoy me. The fact that you buy that machine and you have to place it many meters away to be able to work. Personally when my room is really quite during at night it can drive me crazy. During the day I can’t really hear it because the background noise is higher. I’m afraid that it will be difficult to find a Max that won’t make that high pitched noise.
Reply With Quote
  #884  
Old 08-15-2022, 04:26 PM
glasswing glasswing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver Island b.c. Canada
Posts: 197
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

I'm with Eric. I would let them know and tell them you will send your current Mac when they are ready to ship as it's a business machine. They'll understand.
No noise here at all. Sometimes when I sleep the machine the Sonnet Echo Dual NVMe's seem to yodel goodnight.
No noise from my Studio Ultra at all.
__________________
Mac Studio Ultra / 128 RAM/2TB HD / Avid HDX Chassis / 2 X Sonnet Echo Dual NVMe Thunderbolt Docks w Samsung 970 EVO Plus (6TB) / Avid C24 / Avid 16X16 I/O Analog / Lynx Aurora 16/16 1/O Analog / Dangerous 2 Bus / Benchmark ADC1
www.glasswing.com
www.richardsales.com
Reply With Quote
  #885  
Old 08-15-2022, 06:38 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 990
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Another silent Ultra here too.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacStudio Ultra / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #886  
Old 08-16-2022, 09:08 AM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,065
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Not sure if covered already in this thread but the 'whining' issue (unclear how widespread e.g. if it only affects some units or if other users just less sensitive/susceptible or likely to highlight/investigate) appears to only affect Max versions.

The Ultra has a different cooling system, with a chunkier, more effective copper heatsink in lieu of the Max's aluminium unit. Last I read, it had not been established if the thermal designs differ in other ways (e.g. fans/venting), however considering the abundance of power available to these Macs and the likelihood that the Ultras have a higher threshold for the fans to spin up/increase speed, it seems reasonable that Ultra users are not reporting any issues.

This issue did come up soon after the first units shipped, so I wonder if the latest deliveries are still affected or if maybe Apple have made any changes since?!

Last edited by Righty27; 08-16-2022 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #887  
Old 08-23-2022, 06:29 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 550
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

My Ultra is silent but the Omni and chassis make some noise! The thing about it is no matter what buffer size I pick the latency seems very low. Disk usage increases from 32 - 1024 but performance doesn’t really change much.
__________________
Apple M1 Mac Studio (base model)
HD Native PCI-e in an Echo Express SE 1 chassis
HD Omni with SSL XLogic MADI-AX and MADI-HD

Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/sparkletune/
Reply With Quote
  #888  
Old 08-25-2022, 12:35 PM
kindkind kindkind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 208
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by noah330 View Post
My Ultra is silent but the Omni and chassis make some noise! The thing about it is no matter what buffer size I pick the latency seems very low. Disk usage increases from 32 - 1024 but performance doesn’t really change much.
How is your latency performance with VI? For example, I load 2 different VI pianos (one of them a Kontakt, other UVI), I cannot reliably play them anything less than 256k. Not so impressed.
__________________
Mac Studio M1 Max, 32gb, 2022.7 ultimate, HDNTB, Aurora 16 LTHD, 12.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #889  
Old 08-25-2022, 02:04 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,495
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by kindkind View Post
How is your latency performance with VI? For example, I load 2 different VI pianos (one of them a Kontakt, other UVI), I cannot reliably play them anything less than 256k. Not so impressed.
Hi. Do you have NON-DSP plugins on master fader?
(Same output as VI’s)
Reply With Quote
  #890  
Old 08-25-2022, 02:16 PM
kindkind kindkind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 208
Default Re: New "Mac Studio" from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
Hi. Do you have NON-DSP plugins on master fader?
(Same output as VI’s)
Hi, no plugins on the master or on the VIs.
__________________
Mac Studio M1 Max, 32gb, 2022.7 ultimate, HDNTB, Aurora 16 LTHD, 12.5.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Recording Studio FOR SALE! Pro Toold Hd2 Accel, C24, Apple, Mogami, etc... sketchellis Buy & Sell 15 05-06-2013 06:27 PM
apple-m "mute region" clash with finder apple-m "minimize" wez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-12-2007 05:19 AM
2 Power-Mac's on 1 Apple Studio Display? Optimus Prime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-02-2004 01:11 PM
Has anyone had this problem with their Apple Studio Display? peter parker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-29-2002 12:55 AM
Please advise on best setting on Apple Studio Display LCD Flatscreens - going blind! Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-05-2001 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com