Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-21-2013, 03:21 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 624
Default Re: AVB64 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachary_avedim View Post
I mean the E3 Engine AES inputs that are patched to the input channels, aren't going through to ProTools
As these are not from the stage rack feed you likely need to use Direct Outs. Patch a direct out of each channel to an available AVB feed and you are good to go. Just don't forget that by default Direct Out's are OFF so you need to patch AND turn them ON on each channel. After you have done the DI out assignments, then you will be able to use the "create new session from Venue" function and have your PT session built with these channels included as well. This also means, that any other channel that has DI on will appear in the Pro Tools session, so you might want to check that only channels that need to have DI enabled are so, otherwise you might end up deleting a bunch of tracks from the PT session that are actually duplicates, since they are created twice.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-16-2014, 03:57 PM
audial audial is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ahaus, Germany
Posts: 2
Default Re: AVB64 drivers

Hello Chris,

hope you got back from Frankfurt Messe healthy. In the meantime, I´ve got my S3L System setup und running so far - except the AVB connection with ProTools.

I tried with a MBP17" on OS 10.8.5, that has 1 Thunderbolt and 1 Ethernet port. The AVB64 Installer ends up with an Errormessage.

At another try with a MBP15" Retina (2 Thunderbolt Ports) also on OS 10.8.5, the driver installation was successful immediately, but the computer is not recognized by the S3 as External device. I use an Apple USB3 to Ethernet Adapter, which works fine for an Artist Mix Controller.

Anything to consider with setting proper IP Adress? I choosed for DHCP on th e MBP, because I can´t find a fixed IP to match on the S3.

Does AVB work only via Ethernet to Thunderbolt, or is any available Ethernet port accepted?

I need urgent help for an upcoming multitrack-liverecording next wednesday, that must be prepared in advance. Thanks for your efforts,

Andreas Grotenhoff



Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
Dave,

Can you check if the FW of the TB port is up to the latest firmware ?

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1653

I've seen a 'manual' download and installation of the TB firmware fix the issue that you are seeing.

One important requirement as well when using the AVB enabler is that you have to have the TB to ethernet adapter plugged into the thunderbolt port. If it is not plugged in the enabler will fail because it does not see an available port to enable.

Hope that makes sense.

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-16 um 23.24.45.jpg (34.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-17-2014, 02:47 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Default Re: AVB64 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by audial View Post
I use an Apple USB3 to Ethernet Adapter, which works fine for an Artist Mix Controller.
Use built-in Ethernet port of your Mac. External adapters can be not AVB compatible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audial View Post
Anything to consider with setting proper IP Adress? I choosed for DHCP on th e MBP, because I can´t find a fixed IP to match on the S3.
Keep using DHCP.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:06 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: AVB64 drivers

Hey Andreas,

Did you get it to work ?

As Valentyn indicates - USB to ethernet adapters are not the way to go here imo. Not even sure if that is supposed to work.

I do know both the ethernet ports and the Thunderbolt to ethernet adapters will work. A Thunderbolt equipped mobo is a minimum requirement for AVB to work.

Did you try the TB FW update ? That so far has solved most cases where the AVB enabler script would fail at first.

PM me your contact details and I can try to help you offline if you're still having trouble.

thanks

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Drivers tmitchell Pro Tools 10 6 10-27-2013 03:24 PM
Drivers MandoDjango 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-19-2009 10:51 AM
HUI drivers.... edytnbch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-12-2005 04:14 PM
OSX drivers or proprietary PT6 drivers-what will it be? pfd4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-02-2003 02:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com