Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 09-01-2021, 07:03 PM

Default Getting started with remote recording

I'm new to Pro Tools (just installed it) and I know that I have a lot to research and learn. But I'd like to ask for some simple advice on what the basic steps/requirements are for what I am trying to do. I don't want to spend too much time on the parts that aren't (yet) applicable.

• I'm a seasoned musician (acoustic bass) and software engineer, so I can read up and learn what I need to - as soon as I learn the "what"
  • I would like to record my bass, as a single track, that can be added and synchronized to a Pro Tools session at a remote recording studio.
  • I have a Mid 2015 MacBook Pro
  • I'll need a good mic (for acoustic bass) and an XLR->USB adapter - recommendations?
  • What do I need from the remote studio, tracks-wise (click track)?
  • How do I record a track that will be compatible with the master tracks?
Any suggestions, links to tutorials greatly appreciated.
Old 09-02-2021, 07:27 AM

Default Re: Getting started with remote recording

Since you are starting from essentially zero, here are my suggestions:
1-Skip the XLR-USB adapter and buy a "real" interface. What you choose depends on how many things you need to record at once. The Focusrite 2i2 or Presonus ioStation 24c: 2x2(check manufacturer websites for compatibility info) are 2 solid options. In any case, I suggest a minimum of 2 mic inputs and a headphone output.