Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-23-2021, 07:05 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 978
Default Re: Iíve come to the crossroads with protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajazzie View Post
When I say behind the times, it kinda is. Not for the folks I’m guessing like yourself who really have a need for the specific larger projects/ venues/ systems
Certainly pt excels there

But for the garden variety home studio to myself where it’s a living studio, I’m yet to see a seriously stable and snappy system for several years
The playback engine needs a rewrite, it needs a overhaul big time.

My old mix system in my studio B is more stable than the recent years, I can’t comment on 12 as I have only played with it and wasn’t that stoked.

Overall it’s in need of TLC for the smaller users.

If people keep saying how great it is and it’s the industry standard enough then you believe them.

Ide rather believe my eyes and unfortunately it’s hard to ignore. It’s not what it was at a entry/ intermediate level.


It has nothing to do with people saying Pro Tools is the industry standard... It's the fact it meets, and in many ways has created those industry standards. I have been using reaper since 2009. It is great for solo, self directed work, but it is too behind the times to sweep in and overtake pro tools is many parts of the industry. That reality is rooted in its DNA. DAWs like Nuendo and Pro Tools evolved serving the industry, Reaper, while a great DAW in its own right, was created by the same guy who made WinAmp, and subsequently sold it to AOL where his Dad was an exec, for something like $140mill.

Exceptionally talented man. But Reaper was never built with the same perogatives as Pro Tools. That is why, even in 2021, Reaper doesn't have native OMF support. Pretty well the base standard open file transfer format between non linear editors and DAWs since perhaps the mid nineties, Reaper's claim to fame of being highly customisable is the complete antithesis of what makes an DAW industry standard.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-03-2021, 07:49 AM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 179
Default Re: Iíve come to the crossroads with protools?

I'm just waiting for Avid to get native on the next silicon MBPs. Could be anywhere from 2022 to 2025 though.


Going to keep chugging away on this 2011 MBP for now
__________________
2011 MBP running PT 12.7.1
2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7
16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3

Noise Buffet
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-29-2021, 08:12 PM
joeydego's Avatar
joeydego joeydego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 324
Default Re: Iíve come to the crossroads with protools?

I know when I jumped ship for studio one around 3 years ago, PT couldnít touch S1 feature set in terms of compositional tools. Not sure where avid is these days, but once you lose someone, its really hard to get them back. Avid and UAD seem to be similar: they really dont seem to care much about customer retention and loyalty. All you can do is vote with your dollars. Support the companies you enjoy.
__________________
2012 mac pro PT 2018 Presonus Studio 192
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools 2019(mac) unable to recognize protools 6 session carlstuck Pro Tools 2020 7 07-26-2020 04:37 PM
Protools 12 - Input Audio Window Keeps on opening Protools Cache soundman1234 Windows 0 08-25-2016 11:27 AM
ProTools Shortcut keys suddenly became disabled in ProTools LE 8.0.5? jgbsound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2011 01:08 AM
setting record levels into ProTools with the intent of mixing in ProTools Felix Tips & Tricks 507 02-05-2002 10:17 PM
Crossroads: Next Studio Step? lespaul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-04-2000 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com