Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2009, 10:33 AM
mikezilla mikezilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 16
Default Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

My apologies to the Digi support guy on here if I can off as rude, I was merely frustrated that the system I was so excited about using was causing me so many troubles.

The Mbox 2 issue that many of us are having with it causing programs to hang can be solved (i think?) by following these simple steps

1.If you have a 7.4 installer, install that first!
-DO NOT install core audio driver, I believe this is the problem
-Verify and repair disk permissions
*optional* restart your computer
2.Update Mbox2 firmware
-verify and if necessary repair disk permissions
3.Update 7.4 with the two csupdates
-verify and repair disk permissions
4.Install Pro Tools 8
-verify and repair disk permissions
-restart computer
5.Update 8 with one csupdate
-verify disk permissions
-restart computer

But most importantly, if you have an Mbox2 DO NOT install the core audio drivers. The support guy on the DUC will tell you all day that Leopard and Digidesigns Core Audio has some serious problems, but lucky for us we don't need the extra core audio drivers. I haven't had any problem with hanging programs so far. Well, there was once, but it didn't prevent my computer from turning off and that is the biggest problem I've experienced that others have too.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2009, 04:32 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Actually there should be no need to install 7.4 first, as 8.0 is a full installer. You could skip everything right up to step 4 and, on the Custom Install page, just uncheck the Core Audio driver.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2009, 04:49 PM
feryano feryano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Does that apply to MBox2 Micro also?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2009, 03:22 AM
donbenjy donbenjy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Does this mean you can ONLY use the interface with PT though? As in no sound from itunes etc? Tbh, I'd rather live with that than kernel panics, but it'd be nice to have an answer before I remove the drivers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:03 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Yes, if you uncheck installing the Core Audio driver, you cannot use it for anything other than Pro Tools.

Just remember - don't unplug the unit while the computer is on and make sure that no application is using the hardware and that the Sound control panel is set to Built In before shutting down the computer. Doing those steps should avoid most kernel panics.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:57 PM
feryano feryano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 60
Exclamation Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Even if we do not install CoreAudio we have to take those steps?!!
"don't unplug the unit while the computer is on and make sure that no application is using the hardware and that the Sound control panel is set to Built In before shutting down the computer. Doing those steps should avoid most kernel panics."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2009, 06:33 PM
mikezilla mikezilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 16
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Yes, if you uncheck installing the Core Audio driver, you cannot use it for anything other than Pro Tools.

Just remember - don't unplug the unit while the computer is on and make sure that no application is using the hardware and that the Sound control panel is set to Built In before shutting down the computer. Doing those steps should avoid most kernel panics.
Not true. I still play itunes and safari and all other system sounds through the mbox
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2009, 08:24 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Quote:
Even if we do not install CoreAudio we have to take those steps?!!
No, that should only be necessary if the Core Audio drivers are installed.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2009, 08:25 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikezilla View Post
Not true. I still play itunes and safari and all other system sounds through the mbox
Then you must have the Core Audio driver installed. There is no other way for other applications to play out of the your Digidesign hardware except through the Core Audio driver.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2009, 12:16 PM
seb123 seb123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 6
Default Re: Mbox 2 + Leopard + PT 8 issues solved, thanks DigiTech

So how would I get rid of the drivers if I have them installed ?

I just deleted the coreaudio.plugin in my system and home system-folder (in Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/..) and rebooted.

Mbox still working with iTunes etc.

I have to reboot my mac about 3 times a day due to hanging applications that use the mbox... for one year now.

So annoying, I really regret I bought it. If there's not going to be a fix soon, I will throw the damn thing out of the window.. so better watch your head if you walk around my neighbourhood

Let's hope for the best.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Registration issues - SOLVED JGlen Pro Tools 10 1 08-03-2013 03:38 PM
Anything solved on these issues? gives Pro Tools 10 0 10-11-2012 07:19 PM
iLok issues - SOLVED kthom Windows 1 02-05-2012 01:13 PM
This release has solved many of my issues! euphoria89 Windows 0 10-23-2011 08:35 AM
Mbox 2 Mini + Leopard = Issues? any help? Ryan ONeal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-14-2008 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com