Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2002, 04:28 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,683
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

I have experienced it. But not since v.5.01 I think. Long time ago.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.12.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2002, 12:03 AM
Mike Cameron Mike Cameron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 15
Default High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

Hi, folks...haven't posted in a while, but have been happily lurking along in the meantime. About a year ago I remember reading some posts about "the explosion," i.e. you're running a session with no problem, then you hit stop, or for no other reason at all, you get an eardrum-popping blast of what sounds like digital clipping in your moniors. I had this happen a few days ago, and now I'm afraid to run the session...when I checked the DUC it seemed the thread went on for a month or so and was dropped. Answerbase couldn't help me out either. Did I miss something...sorry if this ends up being a "PT OS X???" topic. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] Thanks all.
__________________
--Now where is that 'suck' knob? Gotta turn that down...--
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2002, 12:10 AM
phamtec phamtec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 358
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

I don't think I've ever gotten this since early days (5.0), but I remember that was definitely something to do with some "wierd" plugin settings.

I remember ditching all of the delays off all the tracks and re-adding them back on. The session was fine after that.

Paul.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2002, 05:33 AM
Ricco Ricco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Farmington, PA USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

I experienced a very loud tone that would start randomly on different sessions and under different circumstances. The session would freeze and I would need to hit the keyboard space bar to stop it. There are some threads on this. I trashed:
-ProTools prefs
- Digitsetup
- The contents of the DAE Preferences folder
I have not had the awful experience since I did this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2002, 10:31 AM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

The sound I think you are experiencing was never actually reproduced or fixed by Digi. No one could ever reproduce it consistantly. The one that was attributed to the Waves plug has been taken care of and is a different situation. No one could ever provide a session that could duplicate the sound by using a set of exact steps, it just pops up from time to time. I haven't had it happen to me since I upgraded to version 5.2.1cs1, but before that I got it about every two weeks, always on a different session and there were NEVER any plug ins installed in the session.

My advise would be to use the most current version of PT's you can, and keep a steady supply of fresh underwear on hand...and keep some fingers near the volume knob at all times. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2002, 10:39 AM
Mike Cameron Mike Cameron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 15
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

Thanks everybody...I'll try that. Just out of curiosity, what is the deal with the Waves plugs you're speaking of? I got the Waves RenBundle a few months ago.
__________________
--Now where is that 'suck' knob? Gotta turn that down...--
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2002, 02:27 AM
bdouglass bdouglass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Burbank CA us
Posts: 5
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

I just upgraded to 32 track PT LE the other day and on monday (12.16.02!) my big 32 track-plugin heavy-automation heavy-session got the explosion bug. So frustrating to work, waiting to get my head blown off by static. So much for getting into the zone.

2 years digi. I thought you'd have an answer by now. Amazing.

God willing the re-write of PT to Unix will slove this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2002, 08:57 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

Yeah I get this every now and again with 5.2.1cs + 5.1.1 DAE. I can usually fix this and other faults like PIs not functioning (e.g. DVerb) by going to "Setups" & "Playback Engine" and forcing DAE to reload. Let's hope version 6 fixes this and no-one else gets their ears blown off.
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2002, 01:31 PM
kenhawkins kenhawkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 605
Default Re: High pitched feedback...also previously referred to as "the explosion"...

I used to get an explosion of sorts at the end of bouncing. i did trace that to trying to use too much cpu usage. i backed that off and never had a problem since. i am not sure whether the 2 are realted but i thought i would give my 2 cents,

ken;
__________________
What is Ken Hawkins up to?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10.2 changes power plan to "high performance" and sometimes doesn't change it back iain_m Windows 7 09-29-2012 04:34 AM
horrible digital static or "feedback" sound JoeQ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-01-2009 08:34 AM
High Pitched Tone, Macbook Pro 17" 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Tbassist4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-18-2008 02:43 PM
Pitched down audio error "Real" only tobywaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-05-2008 07:31 AM
high pitched unexplicable "whine" in ProTools Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 06-25-2002 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com