Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2017, 07:37 PM
davestephans davestephans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Lost Santo
Posts: 1
Default Connecting Kemper to MBox Pro

I just recently purchased a Kemper profiling amp. I currently have my Great River preamp connected to my Mbox Pro and Rosetta 200 via spiff

Since I record at 48, I cannot connect the Kemper via Spdif.

So I was going to keep everything hooked up that I currently have, because I use the great river pre for vocals.

I was going to connect the Kemper via the line input on the back of the Mbox Pro. I believe those line inputs are not connected to any Mbox preamp.

Do I need a special cable to go from the Kemper output to the line input of the Mbox Pro? Or can I just use a guitar cable?

My goal is to use both the kemper and my preamp configuration whenever I need to, without unplugging anything to go from recording the Kemper to recording a vocal.

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2017, 08:35 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Connecting Kemper to MBox Pro

Mbox 3 Pro line level inputs do bypass the pre-amp stages. You should be using the a 1/4" TRS connections on the rear panel, not the front panel XLR, not the front panel 1/4" DI inputs.

Use 1/4" TRS to 1/4" TRS balanced cable or XLR to 1/4" TRS balanced if you prefer to use the Kempler XLR outputs (or cable*s* if doing stereo into the Mbox), not unbalanced instrument aka 1/4" TS cables.

If you are doing analog reamping you should be using the Return Input on the Kempler Pro because that is balanced and line level. Well discussed in the Kempler documentation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get reamping working with Kemper and mBox keithl Pro Tools 12 1 04-09-2017 10:27 AM
Connecting Kemper to MBox Pro keithl Pro Tools 12 1 01-19-2017 04:34 PM
FS: Kemper Rack mrgroovy Buy & Sell 0 08-06-2015 07:38 PM
Anyone here with a Kemper? bredo Eleven Rack 0 03-08-2013 05:05 AM
Anyone got a Kemper? Vercingetorix Eleven Rack 53 02-16-2012 07:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com