Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2014, 08:20 PM
jspellos jspellos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Help (Frustrated) Play button works intermittently

Hi...

Having an issue that occurs periodically (more frequently than not). The play button when pressed sometimes just blinks and doesn't play at all. In addition, I get a "Not Responding" message frequently, either when trying to save a file (on those occassions that I can get PT to work), or sometimes just when selecting a menu item, such as I/O.

I am a newbie here, but I've troubleshooted for the past week, figuring that something is probably conflicting with PT. I had other issues following my installation, but I think I've gotten all of them handled. I'm using ProTools 11.1.3, with an Mbox3. I have a dedicated hard drive for the audio files. I read in a forum that you wanted full system specs, which I have included below. Please let me know what I need to look at to get this working consistently.

Thanks.

Jim

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : jspellos-MU2013
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : HP EliteBook 8570p 103C_5336AN G=N L=BUS B=HP S=ELI
Serial Number : 5CB24*****
Chassis : HP Notebook
Mainboard : HP 17A7
Serial Number : PCSUDB6*******
BIOS : HP 68ICF Ver. F.31 09/24/2012
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : 1.02, IFX
Intel vPro : 8.01.00.1265
Total Memory : 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3520M CPU @ 2.90GHz (2C 4T 3.59GHz, 3.6GHz IMC, 2x 256kB L2, 4MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC PGA988

Chipset
Memory Controller : HP Core (Ivy Bridge) Mobile DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 1.6GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Samsung M471B5273DH0-CK0 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-12800S DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Samsung M471B5273DH0-CK0 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-12800S DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Samsung Generic PnP Monitor (1600x1200, 15.3")
Video Adapter : AMD Radeon HD 7570M (6CU 480SP SM5.0 500MHz, 1GB DDR5 3.2GHz 64-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : AMD Radeon HD 7570M (480SP 6C 500MHz, 1GB DDR5 3.2GHz 64-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : AMD Radeon HD 7570M (480SP 6C 500MHz, 1GB DDR5 3.2GHz 64-bit)

Storage Devices
Hitachi HTS727550A9E364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (E:) (G:)
WDC WD3200BEVT-60ZCT0 (320.1GB, USB2/SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 298GB (D:)
hp DVD A DS8A8SH (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
SYSTEM : 300MB (NTFS)
My Passport (D:) : 298GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3200BEVT-60ZCT0 (320.1GB, USB2/SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 448GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HTS727550A9E364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
HP_RECOVERY (G:) : 15GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HTS727550A9E364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
HP_TOOLS (E:) : 2GB (FAT32) @ Hitachi HTS727550A9E364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ hp DVD A DS8A8SH (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : HP Panther Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T1 07-01
Audio Device : HP Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 7605
Audio Codec : Lucent/Agere Systems (Was: AT&T MicroElectronics) HDA softmodem
Audio Device : HP Turks HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6000 Series]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Serial Port(s) : 3
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : HP Panther Point Mobile 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : HP Standard SD Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : HP Panther Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : HP Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : HP Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : HP IEEE 1394 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send to Microsoft OneNote 15 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : PDF Complete Converter (2400x2400, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP ePrint (600x600, Parallel, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Sensors
Motion : HP Hewlett-Packard 3-axis Accelerometer (Motion, Accelerometer)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Personal Area Network (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6205 (802.11g (ERP), AES-CCMP, 72Mbps)

Power Management
Battery No 1 : Hewlett-Packard Primary 58.43Wh/4.61Ah

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:21 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Help (Frustrated) Play button works intermittently

Storage Devices
Hitachi HTS727550A9E364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (E:) (G:)
WDC WD3200BEVT-60ZCT0 (320.1GB, USB2/SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 298GB (D:)

If you are recording to the WDC drive (D:) you'll need to replace it with a 7200rpm drive.

The Western Digital Caviar BLACK drives work very well (Higher the cache the better). Stay away from Green drives.
EDIT: Just noticed it's a laptop....not sure what drive options will be available to you.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:38 PM
jspellos jspellos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Help (Frustrated) Play button works intermittently

Zedhed...Thanks. I'll check into hard drives tomorrow. Could that be the only thing causing it to hang? Seems like such a simple fix...coulda sworn there was a software/services conflict causing it.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:48 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Help (Frustrated) Play button works intermittently

I'm not sayin it's the only problem but it's the best place to start.

I remember back when I was using PT8 I had those sorts of problems until I switched the drive.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 24 04-16-2020 03:03 PM
Adding insert plug-ins only works intermittently cytokinesis macOS 0 06-24-2011 01:59 PM
Play start marker-frustrated jemukjs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-14-2010 08:30 AM
Mouse click changes play button but won't play screaminbytes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-13-2007 10:13 PM
mbox, ibook, protools- sounds works intermittently vicsclipse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-22-2006 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com