Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2013, 08:43 PM
DFT DFT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 107
Default Install HD Driver in Pt10+CPTK2 Upgrade to PT11HD?

I am going the Pt10+CPTK2 Upgrade to PT11HD Path.

The product download page includes the HD Driver. Is the driver install necessary for the PT11HD 'Native,' or only there because most people upgrading to 11HD are using Avid/ Digi hardware?

Thanks.
__________________
PT10 Win7 x64 Dell 690P Dual Dualcore Xeon 3.0Ghz 16Gb Ram, UAD2 Quad (2), Steinberg MIDEX8 (2), RME HDSPe and A&H ZED R16 FW.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2013, 09:51 PM
ChazC ChazC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne (UK Ex-pat)
Posts: 418
Default Re: Install HD Driver in Pt10+CPTK2 Upgrade to PT11HD?

When someone asked this before I'm sure someone from Avid (Bruce?) said it should be removed it if not using Avid HD hardware.

I upgraded from CPTK and removed it with no apparent problems (so far!).
__________________
Chaz

Shifting Sands Audio
www.shiftingsandsaudio.com
soundcloud.com/shiftingsands

Asus X79 Deluxe | i7 4930K @ 4.1 | 32Gb Ripjaws CL9 GBLZ | Radeon R5 230 | Win7 Pro (64) | 256Gb Samsung 850 SSD | 2x 1Tb Seagate SATA | 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD | 128 Samsung SSD | Antec 650W | ProTools 11.3.2HD, 10.3.9HD, 12.5 | Cubase 9.0.20 Pro | Nuendo 8 | Studio One 3.2 Pro | RME UFX | 2x Octopre Mkii Dynamic | Alphatrack | DTouch | Logitech G510 | Kensington Trackball | Yamaha UX256
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2013, 10:50 PM
DFT DFT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 107
Default Re: Install HD Driver in Pt10+CPTK2 Upgrade to PT11HD?

TY ChazC ...

But it is still a little unclear. It is a separate download from 11 ... so I just haven't bothered to download, let alone install.

I just did the install and it said everything went fine.

So it's time to reboot and see what happens!
__________________
PT10 Win7 x64 Dell 690P Dual Dualcore Xeon 3.0Ghz 16Gb Ram, UAD2 Quad (2), Steinberg MIDEX8 (2), RME HDSPe and A&H ZED R16 FW.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2013, 11:47 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,701
Default Re: Install HD Driver in Pt10+CPTK2 Upgrade to PT11HD?

My experience only, but the HD driver has gotten installed automatically on my rig in every version of 10 and 11(and I do not run any HD, HDX, HDN hardware). One really important detail is; when you uninstall a version(as you would before installing a newer version of PT), you need to ALSO uninstall the HD driver. If you leave it in, the new install "thinks" there is still an older version installed. Hope that helps
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2013, 12:03 PM
DFT DFT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 107
Default Re: Install HD Driver in Pt10+CPTK2 Upgrade to PT11HD?

Thanks ... unfortunately, I seem to have worse problems on my first go around with 11, although 10 seems to still be working fine.

PT11 is constantly hanging for 20 to 30 seconds every other time I click a menu or try to open a parameter.

Unfortunately, I installed 11.0.2 over 11, which I'd never activated. I can't even figure out how to uninstall it.

Windows control panel only gives me 'change' and 'repair,' not 'uninstall.'

Tech support, here I come.
__________________
PT10 Win7 x64 Dell 690P Dual Dualcore Xeon 3.0Ghz 16Gb Ram, UAD2 Quad (2), Steinberg MIDEX8 (2), RME HDSPe and A&H ZED R16 FW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPTK2 et PT10 download ? link ? Aquarius macOS 2 11-06-2011 10:07 PM
CPTK2 with PT10? miketeachesclass Pro Tools 10 1 11-03-2011 02:41 PM
Protools 9HD(CPTK2) to PT10? acelo Pro Tools 10 45 10-26-2011 01:07 PM
Driver Install Error After Upgrade to 7.3 tikboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-09-2007 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com