Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2011, 06:27 AM
Liquid Ghost Liquid Ghost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boca Raton FL
Posts: 52
Default HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

Is there a processing difference in the PCI core vrs. the accel PCIe core card?
Since the Accel process card has twice the processing as a regular process card is it the same way in the core cards?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2011, 08:43 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,059
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

Apparently a HD3 accel pci and HD3 Accel pcie are apparantly the same when i lasst looked at the white papers
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:27 PM
Liquid Ghost Liquid Ghost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boca Raton FL
Posts: 52
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

I understand that but i want to know if the New Accwl PCIe core card is more powerfull than the origional standard HD PCI core card.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2011, 09:15 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,059
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid Ghost View Post
I understand that but i want to know if the New Accwl PCIe core card is more powerfull than the origional standard HD PCI core card.
What I read when I was researching into purchasing my PTHD system it said that a hd 1 accel system was alot more powerful than just a hd 1 system but as u add extra accel cards the difference becomes minimal
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2011, 09:25 AM
themidiroom themidiroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 24
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

I don't see why the Accel core wouldn't provide more proccessing power than a HD core.
__________________
The MIDI Room Transforming your concepts into reality
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2011, 03:06 AM
lennieh lennieh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Epsom Downs,Surrey,UK
Posts: 388
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

Accel core card is more powerful than a non-Accel core card.

PCIe Accel cards can do more than the PCI Accel cards because of the increased bandwidth of PCIe, so I think you get more tracks and more plugin instances with PCIe cards.

For example look at the max number of plugin instances for a particular plugin ( developers often publish this... - here are Focusrite Liquid Mix HD figures : http://www.focusrite.com/products/so...pecifications/
)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:28 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

Well on the CORE card there is a difference, actually. There are plugins that require an ACCEL card such as REVIBE. For those on an HD2 Accel or HD3 Accel it really doesn't matter, because you have that Accel Card. But for those on the HD1, it does. The reason is that the PCIE version of the Core card is actually an ACCEL card where the PCI version of the Core card was the original HD Core Card. I don't know if that changed towards the end of life on the non PCIE version or not, however. So in essence an HD1 PCIE CORE was more powerful than an HD1 non PCIE, but only in the sense of the plugins that it could power---not in raw DSP power, per say.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2011, 12:50 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: HD Core PCI/accel PCIe

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradLyons View Post
So in essence an HD1 PCIE CORE was more powerful than an HD1 non PCIE, but only in the sense of the plugins that it could power---not in raw DSP power, per say.
This is incorrect, see:

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...ower_26690.pdf
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT: Accel PCIe For Core Accel PCIe acmost Buy & Sell 3 09-01-2012 03:38 PM
HD 3 Accel PCIe = 2 Accel Core + 1 HD Accel???? Eduardo Apolonia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 08-04-2007 02:20 PM
HD2 NON ACCEL vs. HD1 Accel Core PCIe s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-25-2006 06:18 AM
PCIE Core/Accel cards? Durka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-15-2006 06:01 PM
Runing Accel plugs on the "Accel PCIe core DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-19-2005 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com