Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:05 AM
andy1977 andy1977 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Default System compatability - help!

Hi all

I used to use LE on my Mac, then I switched to PC. In my switch I ditched LE and changed to Cubase SL3.

I now want to get back into Pro Tools and install LE (running through my old Mbox) on to my PC but also want to keep Cubase (running through my current ASIO soundcard).

My question is: if I install LE onto my computer, will the MBox and all the associated audio drivers and general Digidesign stuff (which seem to get everywhere!) interfere with my current Cubase / ASIO setup (which is lovely and stable!). I'm in the middle of a big job and I don't want to risk problems.

I'd really appreciate some advice here before I take the plunge!

Cheers

Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:16 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: System compatability - help!

Quote:
I'm in the middle of a big job and I don't want to risk problems.
I would definitely recommend waiting until after you've finished your "big job" to try doing anything.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:53 AM
andy1977 andy1977 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: System compatability - help!

Very good. I guess I should have seen that one coming.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2007, 08:01 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: System compatability - help!

I would also recommend that when you are ready to give it a try that you backup your system drive before you do so that you can get up and running again in a short amount of time should something go wrong. I definitely recommend True Image by Acronis for this task. It has saved by butt one too many times to count.

Until you post details about your system (what "other" soundcard you're talking about, what computer/chipset/drives, etc) that's about all anyone here is going to be able to be specific about in regards to "problems".
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2007, 08:57 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,064
Default Re: System compatability - help!

Another option might be to get another hard drive. They're pretty cheap nowadays. That way, you can return back to your original configuration in a snap. Look into a swappable drive enclosure to really make it easy.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.4 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Query - Compatability? Inflict 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-08-2009 03:50 PM
System Compatability wondo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 06-04-2007 05:38 AM
Is My System MBOX Worthy?-System Compatability Djunior007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-18-2006 06:05 PM
Compatability question -my system and the 002 Zwan5150 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2006 06:39 AM
System compatability? Esmeraldo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-11-2002 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com