Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2021, 10:24 PM
feryano feryano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 60
Default HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Everything crumbled today when I turned my hdx ststem and protools ultimate. There’re no inputs available and output goes to internal speakers. Whatever I did uninstalling/installing firmware power off and take the power cable out and lots of other things like trashing all preferences, but nothing’s working.
Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2021, 11:31 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,271
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

After rebooting, do you have HDX on your playback settings dropdown menu?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2021, 08:00 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,712
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Troubleshooting is not for everyone Sounds like you panicked(and I don't blame you) and sometimes this can cause more issues than it solves. Here is a rundown on how I would approach this:
1-If Pro Tools opens; check the hardware setup and Playback Engine to make sure the HDX card is selected.
2-if #1 is correct; (on a Windows machine)open Windows Sound Properties and make sure that Windows is using the onboard sound card as the "default playback device"(NOT the Avid hardware). If you are not running Windows, then you can see why details matter
3-run Digitest. If that comes back with a failure, it probably will give some detail on what/why. If it comes back all good, move to 4. Fail, move to 5
4-uninstall Pro Tools and the HD driver and re-install(which on Windows, requires you to open the Apps and Features window and then open the Programs and Features window, find Pro Tools< right-click and select "Change", then follow the prompts, remember to check the box to also remove the HD driver)
5-Digitest failed, is the HD IO lit? Have you reseated both ends of the digilink cable(gently and carefully)?

Did you install any new software for the last time it worked(even if the software is not related to Pro Tools)? Do you have a backup drive image of your system drive(you should)? I keep a clone of my system drive(done at a point when the rig is working great) so I can swap drives.

Beyond this, are you getting any error messages or any indication from the computer that something is wrong? If things are still not working, come back with every little detail of the entire setup(read the Help Us Help You link near the top of the page) along with details on exactly what you have done.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2021, 08:50 AM
feryano feryano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Unfortunately, I don’t have a clone of the system drive anymore. I gave up on that long time ago since I started using subscription for protools ultimate hdx.
I have the hdx in the playback window and audiomidi. The problem is that the inputs are not available and when I import i/os they’re italic.
I’m on a mcpro cylinder/64 gigs of ram.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2021, 09:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,271
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Let's start with your OS and PT versions, are they compatible?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2021, 09:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,271
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by feryano View Post
The problem is that the inputs are not available and when I import i/os they’re italic.
Well what happens if you hit default?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2021, 12:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,712
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Well what happens if you hit default?
That^^^ and, open IO setup>Bus tab and look down the entire list. What you are looking for is any duplicate paths mapped to outputs. I have seen some weird stuff happen, like one time, I had a bus with the exact same name as ly main outputs. Everything in the session assigned to that bus would play fine, but would be missing from a Bounce to disk Any duplicates can conflict and cause routing to be unavailable(and in italics)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2021, 01:38 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by feryano View Post
Everything crumbled today when I turned my hdx ststem and protools ultimate. There’re no inputs available and output goes to internal speakers. Whatever I did uninstalling/installing firmware power off and take the power cable out and lots of other things like trashing all preferences, but nothing’s working.
Please help.
Always best to list your system (see mine below in signature line)

Sounds like your I/O is screwed up (if it's showing your internal speakers)

Quit PT
Audio Midi Setup make sure both Input and Output are HDX

Open Mac System Preferences > Sound > Input and Output select HDX

Then Hold down N key and launch PT should start then open window with HDX as the Playback Engine or will show HDX as a selection option for Playback engine click it and then quit and relaunch PT
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2021, 07:45 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Mac book pro 2.4, 4 gigs of ram, protools 7.4.2, mbox micro, Mac book black 2.0, 2 gigs of ram
Is this current? You’re WAY under-spec’d.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2021, 10:35 PM
feryano feryano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: HDX 16x16 interface not responding

Thanks for your suggestions. The inputs are not available in sound/system preferences. No inputs available under no circumstances I could even hear the output through my hdx. The interface/16x16 has to lights on, one yellow and one green. It’s non-responsive. My own judgment is that the interface has some kind of malfunction.
Also, I’ve been trying to update my info but can’t do that either.
My system:
Mac-pro black 64 gugs ram, hdx system, protools ultimate 2021
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID HD 16x16 Digital Interface 900$ Rectifried Buy & Sell 3 03-23-2018 01:00 PM
Avid HD 16x16 analog interface question. Thenewexhibit Pro Tools 12 23 02-10-2017 10:55 PM
How To Hook Up My AVID HD I/O 16x16 Analog Interface? NicholasCollins Pro Tools 12 11 05-29-2016 07:30 AM
Avid HDX with 16x16 Analog Interface dexter808 Buy & Sell 13 04-26-2016 07:08 AM
Re:16x16 interface 2224 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 02-02-2014 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com