Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2020, 08:15 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,299
Default Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

An update on a support case I have with Avid. I wrote to them a while back (and some other DUC members confirmed this):

Quote:
I'm seeing Pro Tools ignore the Auto Join in Latch mode. It hits a cliff edge volume change and the VCA kicks into latch and *looks* like it's writing the correct automation, but what's coming out of the speakers is wrong. Totally repeatable. Bad bug. PT 2020.5, macOS 10.14.6, Eucon 20.5, Mac Pro 6,1.
Avid confirms that this is reproducible from 2018.1 to 2020.5 (!). Because this bug is so big, I'm sort of surprised there's not more conversation about it. But perhaps that's because the circumstances for it to occur are pretty specific.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2021, 01:02 PM
EneMeneGratschik EneMeneGratschik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: -
Posts: 34
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

On one hand, I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one experiencing this bug. On the other hand, it's sad that it hasn't been fixed yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2021, 01:18 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,299
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

I think it was fixed in 2021.3, or 2021.3.1. I heard it working properly just recently and was relieved, but haven't tested it fully.

The fix is also notably absent from the list of fixes in Avid's release notes.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2021, 01:36 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 308
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

Was this only with VCA's or also auxes and tracks?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2021, 09:20 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,299
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhoof View Post
Was this only with VCA's or also auxes and tracks?
Hold the press! This bug is not fixed as of 2021.3.1.

Only VCAs. Auxes and tracks are fine. And Join works. I just started with a fresh session to make sure it wasn't something weird in my template. Auto-Join looks like it's working, but it isn't. What's coming out of the loudspeakers is wrong.

It's an easy test, set a high level of a VCA for the whole session, then go into latch with auto-join ON. Ride the VCA down. Hit back and play and listen as it fails to join. BAD.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2021, 09:22 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,938
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

I'm not experiencing this; ride vca down in latch with auto-join on, back-and-play, when the vca gets to the join point it correctly starts writing again at the new (lower) level and continues on without issue. What am I missing?
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2021, 10:51 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,299
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
I'm not experiencing this; ride vca down in latch with auto-join on, back-and-play, when the vca gets to the join point it correctly starts writing again at the new (lower) level and continues on without issue. What am I missing?
Nice of you to test this Rich! Yes, what you're describing is what happens visually, but for some reason on my system the members of that VCA group are still making sound at the higher level, as though the VCA didn't join. The screen is showing proper behavior. Then if I touch the VCA, the members suddenly start playing at the expected level.

Let me know if you hear the issue. It's possible that EneMeneGratschik and I have something unique in our system setup.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2021, 12:04 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,938
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

Yeah, I was listening when I tried it - all behaving normally here. I wonder if it's specific to a certain setup or workflow? I *do* get an annoying audio glitch at the join point as if the VCA is momentarily going back to original level, but that's only on the join pass and is fine on playback.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2021, 08:13 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 535
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
I *do* get an annoying audio glitch at the join point as if the VCA is momentarily going back to original level, but that's only on the join pass and is fine on playback.
I have heard this but not consistently. Does it happen to you every time?
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2021, 02:18 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 308
Default Re: Auto Join Latch broken with cliff-edge automation

I'm unable to reproduce this, using just 1 track with pink noise and 1 vca.

Do you run into this using a template or can you reproduce this yourself with a clean session?
What mixer is connected and is it the same using a mouse?

PT Ultimate 2019.6, HDX

/edit, I do hear a loud pop when auto join takes over. This is gone when I playback that point again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still writing Auto Join/Latch while in Preview? reichman Post - Surround - Video 0 11-01-2016 09:23 AM
Still writing Auto Join/Latch while in Preview? reichman Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 0 10-26-2016 05:43 PM
Automation: touch/latch changes to latch ha2dorff Pro Tools 12 2 09-24-2015 04:38 PM
6.9 Default to Auto Latch after Write Automation.. a2zproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-20-2006 12:10 AM
What does the "Auto Join" tab do? abbyin3d Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-18-2006 07:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com