Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2022, 09:13 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

I wonder if anyone else out there is up and running this combo.

The T-Tap Thunderbolt was discontinued just before M1 support. AJA said that it would work with the 16.1 driver which has native M1 silcon support, but that it isn't offically supported. It works for me but I'm getting jumping frames from the begining of playback, like a single stuck frame that keeps re-showing when film the playing. Sometimes it disappears and plays as normal with multiple start stops of the transport and sometimes it keeps happening. I'm not sure if this is what PT calls 'tearing' in the preferences, but that setting, along with play start latency doesn't seem to do anything to solve the issue.

Anyone any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2022, 05:16 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,083
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

More specs about your machine might be helpful, but I think you’d have more luck contacting AJA.

Until they support T-Tap officially you’re going to potentially have issues. It might be worth looking at Blackmagic Design stuff as they are Apple Silicon native.

Last edited by tom_lowe; 05-23-2022 at 11:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2022, 12:20 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

Made an error and left out the ‘book’ part of it computer name, sorry.

The T-tap won’t ever be officially supported, hence my post to see if others have any further personal experience with this combination as it seems to be quite a popular device.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2022, 02:08 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues : SOLVED

Please ignore post, I've got it working perfectly....

The issue was the DNxHD video file was playing off an external SSD that was NTFS formatted and being read by NTFS for Mac.... I reformated the disk to Mac OS Extended and it plays smoothly now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2022, 10:33 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

Thanks for the update. The T-Tap is handy.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2022, 11:41 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,083
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues : SOLVED

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmagnetic View Post
Please ignore post, I've got it working perfectly....

The issue was the DNxHD video file was playing off an external SSD that was NTFS formatted and being read by NTFS for Mac.... I reformated the disk to Mac OS Extended and it plays smoothly now.
glad you were able to get it sorted.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2022, 02:17 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,414
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

Thanks for this! I have a T-Tap I've been using for over 7 years now. Waiting for my new Mac Studio and I wasn't sure if the T-Tap would still function.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Producer/Re-recording Mixer - New York
Nathaniel Reichman | IMDB | LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-2022, 04:35 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 524
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

I'm T -Tap too, but finding using the AVE untenable with it, laggy, out of sync playback etc

Its generally ok using Video Sync 5 tho -


I'm using monteray 12.3.1 and I'm getting warnings about it being unsupported if I upgrade the OS


has any one jumped to PT ( ultimate or is it flex now? ) 22.4 ?

any improvements? I could maybe try this week. as 21.12 is a bit buggy.. ( just stupid graphics issues and having to trash my prefs at least once a day )
__________________
2018 i7 3.6 GHz 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.6.2 - 32Gig RAM 512 Gb SSD drive
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 2022 10 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2022, 02:57 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 818
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

T-Tap works with Monterey 12.4 and PT 2022.5 on a Mac M1 Studio Ultra. Any more than that I have not tested!
__________________
[email protected]
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2024.3.1 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 13.6, PT Ultimate 2024.3.1 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-2022, 07:06 PM
Stevo499 Stevo499 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burbank
Posts: 11
Default Re: M1 Silicon MacPro Monterey and T-Tap issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
T-Tap works with Monterey 12.4 and PT 2022.5 on a Mac M1 Studio Ultra. Any more than that I have not tested!

I have a T-Tap also it works great on my 6,1 trash can which is Thunderbolt 2.

I’m looking to upgrade to Mac Ultra Studio very soon.

Thanks for letting us know T-Tap works with your Ultra Studio. I’m assuming your using a Thunderbolt 2 to Thunderbolt 3 converter with that, Is that correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2020 and Silicon Sam C Pro Tools 2020 3 08-04-2021 09:24 AM
Using carbon copy to move from macpro to a newer Macpro fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2012 02:39 PM
Mac heads: i3 or MacPro Xeon...any big issues with Protools? trupro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-07-2011 02:24 PM
Continuous random performance issues PTLE 8.0 MacPro quad core. Help! murph16 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-21-2009 08:44 PM
Tiger over Leopard MacPro issues magnottiprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-30-2007 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com