Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2010, 10:29 PM
dkbarnwell dkbarnwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Default Reverse Selection???

Hello All,

I am trying to "reverse" an audio track and having some trouble. I did this trick several years (or upgrades) ago and can't seem to make the magic happen again. I am running LE7.4 and I guess I am suppose to select the track and choose "reverse" from the audio suite menu and apply the process to the track. I have selected to overwrite the file and I can see the track, well change but it certainly isn't backwards as I would expect. Oh, yes, I tried the same steps using "invert" from the audio suite menu as well...same result...

Even stranger, I can hit the "preview" tab while in "reverse"and hear the track backwards but can't make it happen when I hit process.

Can anybody get me going in the right direction on this?

Thanks in advance,
Derek

Last edited by dkbarnwell; 04-10-2010 at 10:38 PM. Reason: added comment
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2010, 11:55 PM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: Reverse Selection???

Maybe the track is too long for the process which I would expect the audio goes off line for quite a while if it is a 5 min track. Try and break it up. Copy to another track and cursor to the bar 9 of the duplicate track and press Ctrl-E then select from bar 1 - 8 and see if you can reverse the 8 bars. The audio suite is the way to go so you aren't doing anything wrong.
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2010, 12:18 AM
dkbarnwell dkbarnwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Reverse Selection???

Thanks TLennon!
I figured out what I was doing wrong... I was in fact doing all the steps correctly but I didn't notice was the "reversed" track was showing up in the play list instead of simply replacing the selected track as I was expecting. Once I noticed that, it was just a matter deleting the source track and dragging the "reversed" track out of the play list and into the track in the edit screen.

Works like a charm! Thanks again for your input,
Derek
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2010, 08:38 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,419
Default Re: Reverse Selection???

When you call up an AudioSuite plugin, there is a "button" on the plugin that says USE IN PLAYLIST. If that is lit, the new audio gets placed for you(saving a step)
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2010, 11:27 AM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: Reverse Selection???

Glad you got it worked out DK and thanks for that update Albee. I forgot all about that button.
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit Selection Follows Clip List Selection not working Sjoberg Pro Tools 10 3 12-04-2020 12:38 PM
Playing back part of a selection without affecting timeline/selection jschmidtiii macOS 2 05-11-2013 01:05 PM
Edit Selection Follows Region List Selection->NOT! alteregg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-14-2006 03:40 PM
Reverse selection end move command (R.S.E.M.C.)? Mick F. Cantarella Tips & Tricks 3 05-09-2003 10:41 AM
Reverse selection end move command (R.S.E.M.C.)? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-04-2003 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com