Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:46 PM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York State, US
Posts: 353
Default Importing Multiple MIDI Files with Different Tempo Changes

Hi all,

I'm trying to import some MIDI tracks of two pieces of classical music. Each piece has its own tempo map with many changes. When I try to import the 2nd piece (and its tempo changes) and place it after the 1st, it erases the tempo map of the 1st piece. Is there some way to import a MIDI file with its tempo map, and still preserve the tempo information that already exists in the session?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:25 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Importing Multiple MIDI Files with Different Tempo Changes

Copy the first imported piece including relevant Rulers then import the second piece, pasting the first.






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2008, 03:01 PM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York State, US
Posts: 353
Default Re: Importing Multiple MIDI Files with Different Tempo Chang

Hi Filosem,

Thanks for the reply. I tried your suggestion with mixed results. I tried a bunch of things. Sometimes importing would mess up the Bars Ruler and/or the Song Start Marker and/or existing MIDI regions. I would then have to "Move Song Start" and/or "Renumber Bars", or something else to fix things. Part of the problem may have been differing time signatures (one piece was in 4/4, the other in 6/8). I also tried doing it via "Import Session." Again, I tried it with different selections made in the "Import Session" dialog box, and tried doing it in different modes (Shuffle, Spot, etc.). I also tried dragging from the Workspace Browser. I feel like I'm making some progress, but there are times when I get some really weird results (like moving all the existing regions to bar "-1200", yes, that's negative 1200). So I feel like there are still things I don't understand and something I am missing that would make this easier and faster. Thoughts?

[QUOTE]
Copy the first imported piece including relevant Rulers then import the second piece, pasting the first.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2008, 07:59 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Importing Multiple MIDI Files with Different Tempo Chang

Hope this clarifies.






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2008, 09:06 AM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York State, US
Posts: 353
Default Re: Importing Multiple MIDI Files with Different Tempo Chang

Thanks, mate.

I was able to pull it off. I had three movements of a classical piece, the first two being in 4/4 and the third in 6/8, with many tempo changes throughout. I had to start with the THIRD piece, copy as you said, import the SECOND piece (which erases the third), then paste the third after the second. Then, copy the second and third, import the FIRST (which erases the second and third), and finally paste the second and third after the first.

It seems weird to me that I had to start with the last piece and work backward to get this to work, but I'm glad we finally got it. Before this, I tried starting with the first and adjusting the offset value in the "Session Import" dialog as I imported the second and third, but I couldn't get it to work correctly.

At any rate, thanks again for your help.



Quote:
Hope this clarifies.

filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2008, 01:49 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Importing Multiple MIDI Files with Different Tempo Chang

Yeah I stuffed up the order, but the key was to include any relevant Rulers in the Selection for copy and paste.

Anyhoo... glad you got it working.








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! Can't Import Multiple Midi Files W/ Tempo Maps -Meter Maps kfoody Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 09-26-2011 08:08 AM
importing multiple audio files into the same track? tokolosh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-02-2009 01:07 PM
Importing multiple files in structure free justmull1 Virtual Instruments 0 08-14-2008 05:44 PM
Importing multiple midi files into a pro tools session deryanagle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-19-2008 07:22 PM
importing multiple tempo/meter maps..how? nikki-k-again 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 11-12-2007 04:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com