Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2007, 08:50 PM
Phate Phate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default Plugging Bass guitar direct into digi002 ???

i just got a bass guitar and i plugged it into my digi002 and i can get sound only when i crank the input volume and its very noisy. Im pretty sure the 002 and built in DI so i was wondering what settings i had set incorrectly.

thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2007, 09:05 PM
bilco bilco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 309
Default Re: Plugging Bass guitar direct into digi002 ???

Use channels 1-4 only. Set Mic/Line/Instrument selector button on front to Line/Instrument. If the bass has passive pickups, turn your volume and tone pots both wide open.

I haven't ever plugged in my Pbass directly to the Digi002; I use a Sansamp and then take the output of that into the Digi002. But I have plugged the Pbass directly into my Mbox and it works fine. The inputs in the Digi002 should work just as well or better I think.

bilco
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2007, 11:12 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Plugging Bass guitar direct into digi002 ???

Do yourself a favor and buy a Studio Projects VTB-1 Mic Pre (w/ Instrument Input) from Full Compass for like $90. Its a Tube mic pre and is one of the best sounding Tube Bass DI's I have used, and is cheaper than a straight up DI box. I have 4 of them and use them quite often.

Then the obvious other option is a Sans Amp Bass DI. A little more pricey.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2007, 08:33 AM
andymae andymae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 42
Default Re: Plugging Bass guitar direct into digi002 ???

or buy the ikmultimedia ampeg plugin, I use it for DI bass all the time, it's worth it's weight in gold. It's not that expensive, in fact the studio bundle which includes ampeg is very decent
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2007, 08:33 AM
andymae andymae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 42
Default Re: Plugging Bass guitar direct into digi002 ???

or buy the ikmultimedia ampeg plugin, I use it for DI bass all the time, it's worth it's weight in gold. It's not that expensive, in fact the studio bundle which includes ampeg is very decent
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi002 Guitar&Bass Re-amping skotty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-25-2005 11:24 AM
OT: Recording bass guitar direct Joe Evans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 29 05-04-2004 06:07 AM
Plugging bass ports nd General Discussion 4 01-15-2003 12:14 AM
Recording guitar and bass direct - help! halfloaded 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-07-2002 04:35 PM
Real bass guitar...Midi bass guitar... what to you put on em to make em sound great ? Jorge442 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 09-05-2002 11:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com