Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-18-2024, 08:24 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Lexicon PCM Native Reverb Replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by loopzilla2 View Post
So I spent the day mixing with the Patchwork/Lexicon AU Workaround and it sounded great! Unfortunately the AU Lexicons don't recall reliably inside Patchwork. Sometimes they simply disappear on session reload. Patchwork is there, but no Lexicon plug is loaded. Probably related to the Rosetta/ARM split that Patchwork forces onto Pro Tools. To be clear, they 'seem' to load, but they don't pass audio once any Patchwork/Lex GUI is loaded. It's a bug, but I'm not going to solve this one.

So, I'll abandon the Lexicon plugs moving forward. They work great under Sonoma/Rosetta, but I'm ready to leave Rosetta behind if possible. I still have two PCM96 hardware units, so they will get used more often.

Symphony/Stratus, LX480, and Reverb One will start this new season, though Blackhole Immersive is a short-list buy. That's an amazing reverb.

Thank you all for your suggestions.
Thanks for testing this as I was going to give it a go but won't bother now.

Really, the plugins are replaceable these days. There's better modulation effects and delays, and the verbs, well, they are great, sure, but so is Pro R2, Superplate, etc. There's a lot of truly great verb plugins out there. You can even get UAD native Lexicon 224 now if you want the vintage lexicon sound in a native plugin. Heaps of options. They never really cared about the plugins, and there's those of us who paid over 1000 USD for them. Rather than stress about it anymore, especially when they were available for 399 soon after, I think it's just time we all let them fade into obscurity.

One thing is for sure. Harman has set a precedent, so if they ever try fool us with new plugins again, at least we already know what their support is like, and hopefully there will be a lot less of us that fall for it a second time.

Fool me once....
__________________
- Mac Studio M2 Ultra/OS 14.5/64gb/2TB/UA Apollo x3 + OctoPre x3 + UA Satellite x3/PT 2024.3/Nuendo 13/Logic 11
- MSI GT77/13980HX/W11 Pro 23H2/64GB/4TB/Arturia Minifuse 2/Tuned for low DPC/PT 2024.3/Bitwig 5
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-18-2024, 09:12 PM
audiolex1 audiolex1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Studio City
Posts: 507
Default Re: Lexicon PCM Native Reverb Replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by loopzilla2 View Post
So I spent the day mixing with the Patchwork/Lexicon AU Workaround and it sounded great! Unfortunately the AU Lexicons don't recall reliably inside Patchwork. Sometimes they simply disappear on session reload. Patchwork is there, but no Lexicon plug is loaded. Probably related to the Rosetta/ARM split that Patchwork forces onto Pro Tools. To be clear, they 'seem' to load, but they don't pass audio once any Patchwork/Lex GUI is loaded. It's a bug, but I'm not going to solve this one.

So, I'll abandon the Lexicon plugs moving forward. They work great under Sonoma/Rosetta, but I'm ready to leave Rosetta behind if possible. I still have two PCM96 hardware units, so they will get used more often.

Symphony/Stratus, LX480, and Reverb One will start this new season, though Blackhole Immersive is a short-list buy. That's an amazing reverb.

Thank you all for your suggestions.
Why not use VST. I've never found AU reliable outside of Logic.

But getting out of Rosetta is desirable, thought I hope there will be a patchworks that would run Silicone but be able to host Rosetta version plugins within the host.
So maybe that isn't possible, but it would be very cool.

Wonder what the possibilities of having an outside RACK that can run outside of Pro Tools to host a collection of Rosetta version plug ins, and virtually connect.
Kind of like a 500 series rack.

That would be very cool. At least until updated or replaced. That way it won't drag Pro tools down, but still give you access to obscure things that aren't updated to AS.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1. 3.46 12 core, 128 gigs ram, 580 GPU flashed Apple EMI, 3 monitors
PT Ult 2023.6, OSX 10.14.6, 3 card PCI-e expansion with 3.2 USB Sonnet card.
OCTO 8 card, Apollo 8 Quad, UAD quad satellite FW.
Almost every plugin
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-18-2024, 09:28 PM
massivekerry's Avatar
massivekerry massivekerry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 744
Default Re: Lexicon PCM Native Reverb Replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiolex1 View Post
Why not use VST. I've never found AU reliable outside of Logic.

But getting out of Rosetta is desirable, thought I hope there will be a patchworks that would run Silicone but be able to host Rosetta version plugins within the host.
So maybe that isn't possible, but it would be very cool.

Wonder what the possibilities of having an outside RACK that can run outside of Pro Tools to host a collection of Rosetta version plug ins, and virtually connect.
Kind of like a 500 series rack.

That would be very cool. At least until updated or replaced. That way it won't drag Pro tools down, but still give you access to obscure things that aren't updated to AS.

I think it may depend on the specific plugin. I'm stuck using some u-He synths (RePro-1/5 and Zebra) in Patchwork Synth until Urs decides that PT users have suffered enough for Avid's non-compliance to his Silicon-native coding schedule. I especially like the RePro-1, but opening the VST (or VST-3) version in Patchwork Synth causes all sorts of problems (even after re-installing it), so I have to stick with the AU version on that one.

As for an outside "Rack" (but on the computer) you CAN host VST, VST-3, AU, and AU3-format plugins in VSL's Vienna Ensemble Pro (Silicon and Rosetta versions available). It works quite well, but I only find it worth loading if I have a bunch of plugins that I need to run in it. As an aside, you can also use Blue Cat's Connector program to use Logic or MainStage as a Plugin host. It's a little clunky to route at first, but does work. I've used it when clients are looking for "that Rhodes" or "those handclaps" that are over-used stock sounds in Logic.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

Mac Studio M1 Ultra : 128GB RAM : Ventura 13.6.6 : Carbon : PT Ultimate 2024.6 : S1 : Metagrid Pro

Last edited by massivekerry; 06-18-2024 at 09:35 PM. Reason: links
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-21-2024, 02:49 PM
loopzilla2 loopzilla2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 153
Default Re: Lexicon PCM Native Reverb Replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiolex1 View Post
Why not use VST. I've never found AU reliable outside of Logic.
We talked about this a few pages back. The Lexicon VST threw a "not silicon compatible" error inside Patchwork. Lexicon AU loaded fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiolex1 View Post
But getting out of Rosetta is desirable, thought I hope there will be a patchworks that would run Silicone but be able to host Rosetta version plugins within the host.
This is indeed what's happening when Patchwork loads the (non-silicon) Lexicon AU.

Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-28-2024, 02:23 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,313
Default Re: Lexicon PCM Native Reverb Replacement

I finally got my hands on HD Cart. I like it a lot. Kind of wish I picked it up sooner.

Good stuff.

C
__________________
PT 2021.10 HDX 16x24 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.13.6 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-02-2024, 05:46 AM
EmilILönneberga EmilILönneberga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 112
Default Re: Lexicon PCM Native Reverb Replacement

I still have the hardware PCM70, PCM96 and 300L which I really like and still use. I also have the UAD 480 and 224 and I find them great.
Since the 224 is also available as a native plug-in I'd give it a try.
Some people dislike that you have to use the digital LARC to manage the parameters, but I guess you won't have any issues coming from Lexicon hardware as well.
It's also not very expensive (48$ at Thomann).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lexicon PCM Native Reverb v. 1.3.8 Will Russell AAX Plug-ins 17 10-14-2020 06:01 AM
Lexicon Native Reverb Jim Morris AAX Plug-ins 6 07-07-2015 08:33 PM
Lexicon PCM Native Reverb - $350 !!! propower Buy & Sell 7 12-21-2012 02:41 AM
lexicon pcm native reverb Shiko VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 04-27-2010 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com