Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2024, 08:39 PM
[email protected] aroomstudios@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Brea, CA
Posts: 17
Default Using HDX with other software

I have two lynx aurora n converters. I currently use them with tb3 cards with Pt ultimate 3.2024. If I get a hdx card and swap out the lynx tb3 to digilink. Will other software will with them? Like Steinberg Nuendo, Wavelab etc?


Also, is hdx really even worth it these days? I work on a SSL console so I mix on that not and really too much on PTs. I wish Fabfilter q3, sound radix auto align was aax dsp.



If you run mostly aax dsp and a few native plugins does the system still run all native at that point? Or do they have to still be all aax dsp to take full advantage of the hdx system?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2024, 09:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,903
Default Re: Using HDX with other software

What specific problem are you trying to solve by using HDX?

You can use the HDX connected DigiLink boxes via CoreAudio (provided when you install the Avid HD Driver) with other DAWs or other Audio apps but you don't get to use any of the HDX processing power, only the Pro Tools mixer (when running in classic HDX mode) and HDX capable plugins get to do that. When you use the hybrid engine the mixer runs native and you get to choose what plugins run on HDX/DSP. The HDX connected boxes in this case also may not have the lowest latency out there, you should check before assuming they do and compare numbers to what you get on Thunderbolt.

In either case how well plugin processing happens, and with what latency, depends on the order you place native and HDX plugins (since moving between those worlds requires going though a hardware buffer). All this, how native plugins in recording chain get deactivated, how voice counts work, etc. are all well described in the Pro Tools Reference Guide and discussions you'll likely find by searching DUC or the web.

Be aware of how much DSP processing power, and voices, you may need, a single HDX card is not a lot of power, hybrid at least allows you to only use that power where you want it. But there have been some stability and latency bug issues with hybrid.

My attempt at pithy advice with HDX is you will know if you need it, and if you don't know you don't need it.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-17-2024 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2024, 07:05 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: Using HDX with other software

You can use other software with HDX through the included ASIO/Core audio drivers in the HD Driver installer. There are two caveats with it. The first is Pro Tools takes captive control over HDX hardware when it uses it - if Pro Tools is open and using HDX, HDX will disappear entirely as a hardware choice for other applications. The second, you probably doesn't need mentioning but I'll toss it out anyway - third party software never has access to AAX-DSP plugins or DSP monitoring.

HDX is really only worth it if you need to run high sample buffers in your sessions and plan to record/monitor through Pro Tools during takes. One example would be recording live instruments and vocals in a session that has lots of virtual instruments that require your sample buffer being set to 256, 1024 samples, etc.

How are you finding the latency/tracking experience with the TB3 cards in the Auroras?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3. OSX 13.6.5. Win 10. HD Native. Lynx AES16e. Lynx Aurora 16. i9-13900KF. ASRock Z690 Steel Legend. 64GB Ram. AMD Vega 64. BM Decklink. Dolby Atmos Renderer 5.2. Trinnov D-Mon. D-Command.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2024, 10:14 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Using HDX with other software

“How are you finding the latency/tracking experience with the TB3 cards in the Auroras?“
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The licensing software required to activate this software is not running" BillytheB Licensing & Accounts 1 09-13-2018 11:20 AM
Best Master Software and Best CD Burning Software. whitecreek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-28-2006 10:12 AM
Best Master Software and Best CD Burning Software. whitecreek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-24-2006 08:46 PM
HD Software Addicted Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-22-2006 04:33 PM
Implement software update option into ProTools software Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-09-2003 12:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com