Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2024, 12:57 PM
dcoffset dcoffset is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: London
Posts: 43
Default Atmos Binaural Live-Re-Render Monitoring

I'm using the Internal Atmos Renderer, and have noticed the binaural renderer seems to be inconsistent with its loudness monitoring. Some passes report no peaks and others report peaks when nothing has changed in the mix.

This seems kinda weird, and a pain when trying to prevent peaks from hitting the Atmos in-built limiter. The track I'm currently working on also seems consistently louder in binaural than the 2.0, which is also a bit weird but may be explained by the EQ/phase shifts from the HRTF process...

Any insights on this would be appreciated!
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro | OSX Monterey | PT 2024.6 HDX | DAD AX32
Remote: Macbook Pro | OSX Ventura | PT 2024.6 | UAD X8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2024, 10:47 AM
bozmantate bozmantate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Atmos Binaural Live-Re-Render Monitoring

Did you ever figure this out?

I've just mixed a feature in Amos using the internal renderer and the Binaural render is coming out some 8-10 dB higher than the 2.0 render
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2024, 12:35 PM
dcoffset dcoffset is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: London
Posts: 43
Default Re: Atmos Binaural Live-Re-Render Monitoring

Oddly enough, I recently asked Dolby the question in a seminar and they just announced changes in the latest update Dolby Atmos Renderer update.

Not sure if this is relevant in an RMU setting [altho would assume it would be applied across Dolby products], so things may depend on your setup...
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro | OSX Monterey | PT 2024.6 HDX | DAD AX32
Remote: Macbook Pro | OSX Ventura | PT 2024.6 | UAD X8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Atmos Render CPU on macOS shawnhonsberger Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 8 01-04-2024 03:46 PM
Dolby Atmos Render to MP4 ziggy2282 Pro Tools 1 12-20-2023 05:42 PM
Integrated Atmos Renderer Binaural Shortcomings Tone_Mechanic Pro Tools 3 12-15-2023 08:08 AM
issue with Atmos re-render downmix controls Protone Post - Surround - Video 6 12-07-2023 01:31 PM
is there any way to render dolby atmos within the same windows computer? reynerferdinand Post - Surround - Video 0 08-03-2021 01:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com