Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-13-2021, 02:40 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,139
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by twolocs View Post
Well yeah, that's my workaround, I installed in manually. But seriously, why does Avid Link even exist if it's not going to do what it's supposed to do?
It is a nice idea and work in progress, but nothing in this life is a one-size-fits-all kind of thing. Someone buys hardware, installs, parks it, throws away the key, uses it for as long as it works, then starts all over again. Someone else updates something every day.

If you want to install everything without thinking, Avid Link may be just the thing for you. But if you want to stay put and actually think what you are installing and when and where, you would probably care less if Avid Link never realised.

There is this wonderful Avid Download Center for someone who wants to install some specific version (12.6 or later) and park it there, but there are also plenty of people who wish to be notified when there is something to be updated.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-13-2021, 05:49 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,015
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Can anyone confirm the glitching video is no longer happening?
Video has been solid for me through the past couple of iterations of PT. I'm not using any kind of external video box/codec, just the Mac's HDMI to a TV.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-13-2021, 06:14 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 211
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Hello,

I'm afraid.

Since 2013 I've had PT firmware updates brick 6, count them 6, HDX cards, some of which I've had to pay to repair even though Avid's update bricked them.

I'm afraid.
H
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-13-2021, 07:49 PM
12StringJ 12StringJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Ok. Well after the fiasco of having to use the command prompt to uninstall PT so that I could install 2021.3, I was hopeful about this update. However, its another fail. Now it uninstalls 2021-3 and then reinstalls it, over and over and over.


I have complained for quite some time that Avid's installers stink and it seems they don't listen. Actually, so far as I can tell, they don't listen to much anymore unless you PAY PAY PAY.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-13-2021, 08:40 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 173
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12StringJ View Post
Ok. Well after the fiasco of having to use the command prompt to uninstall PT so that I could install 2021.3, I was hopeful about this update. However, its another fail. Now it uninstalls 2021-3 and then reinstalls it, over and over and over.


I have complained for quite some time that Avid's installers stink and it seems they don't listen. Actually, so far as I can tell, they don't listen to much anymore unless you PAY PAY PAY.
I got to the part where it says "How do you want to uninstall Protools?" and I cancelled out. Until they come up with something that is close to an industry standard of updating, I wont update again. If it gets close to my anniversary date for upgrade and they haven't figure it out, I'm out.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-13-2021, 11:33 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12StringJ View Post
Ok. Well after the fiasco of having to use the command prompt to uninstall PT so that I could install 2021.3, I was hopeful about this update. However, its another fail. Now it uninstalls 2021-3 and then reinstalls it, over and over and over.
Is anyone else having this problem? I haven't heard others posting about this yet. If it is just you (or maybe a few), then it may not be a problem with the installer as so many people seem to be able to uninstall and install without any problems. Perhaps there is something else causing your problems.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.3.1 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-13-2021, 11:57 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 679
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Upgraded today, no issues.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.3.1 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.6.1974
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.01

PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-14-2021, 01:42 AM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 470
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Upgraded. Works fine on M1 Mac Mini
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS Big Sur 11.3 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools 2021.3 Native
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-14-2021, 03:29 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 55
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
Hello,

I'm afraid.

Since 2013 I've had PT firmware updates brick 6, count them 6, HDX cards, some of which I've had to pay to repair even though Avid's update bricked them.

I'm afraid.
H
This. This bothers me. Can you expand, or is that like re-living the trauma?

Dominic
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-14-2021, 03:52 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,502
Default Re: 2021.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin1524 View Post
For me crashing when opening a session. Any tips?

Justin

UPDATE: Got my rig working finally after deleting prefs and, perhaps more important, empty the plugin directory and add them back some at a time, restarting Pro Tools as needed. Honestly, Avid should make a better plugin manager from Pro Tools. I know some of you are thinking, how many plugins do you need? Do you really need 1,000? Clearly no. Will I continue to hoard plugins. Most definitely yes!

Yeah I've had to do this when I've updated before now. Just reading this post is enough to put me off going ahead with the update.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any benefit to TDM in 2021? akopp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-15-2021 06:45 AM
2021 & iZotope Jazzbass56 Pro Tools 2021 8 03-27-2021 07:03 AM
aside from 2021 upgrade, anything else? paul_g Pro Tools 2021 3 03-26-2021 08:25 PM
PT 2021... Catalina? Or Big Sur? Eric Lambert Pro Tools 2021 3 03-26-2021 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com