Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2020, 04:18 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default External Monitor: 27” vs 32” (Also 1 vs 2 Displays)?

Hi guys,

Which do you guys prefer for Pro Tools work: a 27” or a 32” monitor?

Also, do you use 1 or 2 monitors?

I’m considering going with 2 monitors where one can show the mix window and the other shows the edit window. Is this worth it or helpful?

I’m thinking if I go with 1 monitor it maybe should be 32”. Is it overkill?
But if I go with 2 monitors, maybe two 27” monitors side by side would be good.

Curious to hear any thoughts or recommendations. Thx!!

Last edited by johnbarnesiii; 01-01-2021 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2021, 01:06 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: External Monitor: 27” vs 32” (Also 1 vs 2 Displays)?

Hey there John, two thumbs up here for the dual 32s.
We went for some LG refurbs; as the reliability record for refurbished products is very very high.
If you’re not in a hurry, you can wait for upcoming holidays;
i.e.Presidents’ Day, I believe is right around the corner,
and a lot of big box retailers will have promos surrounding those days.
(I recall ours ending up at just over a couple hundred bucks each.)

I have them configured as you suggested, mix on one side, edit on the other.
Also decided to put up a third monitor, a dell 20 inch, to handle what I consider to be the utility windows,
Apples activity monitor utility, ProTools markers, window config‘s, and system usage, session setup.

After trying out different resolutions, I decided to go 1080 P on the edit window,
but 2K on the mix window, as I couldn’t fit in all of the parameters that I wanted to see.
Curious aside, I am separated from the monitors by whatever depth an Icon console is.
And I couldn’t quite make out the finer print when it was set to 2K.
After visiting my ophthalmologist, he mentioned that besides nearsighted and farsighted glasses
there’s a third optio;, for midsighted, which is ideal for computer use.
I ordered those glasses, boy was he right!
Now I can see the mix window set at 2K perfectly.
Best of luck…
e
for the record studios
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2021, 12:31 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,817
Default Re: External Monitor: 27” vs 32” (Also 1 vs 2 Displays)?

You could also look into one of the newer ultrawide 49" monitors that are basically the equivalent of two 27" monitors side by side, such as those from LG, Samsung, and Dell.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2021, 01:12 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,808
Default Re: External Monitor: 27” vs 32” (Also 1 vs 2 Displays)?

We use a single 34" ultra wide for everything besides the video window at WB. However, at home, I use three 28" 4k Dell monitors that I picked up for about $150/ea on ebay. I love these.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3815.jpg (51.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2021, 12:27 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default Re: External Monitor: 27” vs 32” (Also 1 vs 2 Displays)?

Thanks so much for the recc! Dual 32’s sound pretty cool. I am considering now. At first I thought this would be overkill, and thought dual 27’s would be way more than enough. But who knows, maybe bigger IS better! Will keep in mind, thanks again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
Hey there John, two thumbs up here for the dual 32s.
We went for some LG refurbs; as the reliability record for refurbished products is very very high.
If you’re not in a hurry, you can wait for upcoming holidays;
i.e.Presidents’ Day, I believe is right around the corner,
and a lot of big box retailers will have promos surrounding those days.
(I recall ours ending up at just over a couple hundred bucks each.)

I have them configured as you suggested, mix on one side, edit on the other.
Also decided to put up a third monitor, a dell 20 inch, to handle what I consider to be the utility windows,
Apples activity monitor utility, ProTools markers, window config‘s, and system usage, session setup.

After trying out different resolutions, I decided to go 1080 P on the edit window,
but 2K on the mix window, as I couldn’t fit in all of the parameters that I wanted to see.
Curious aside, I am separated from the monitors by whatever depth an Icon console is.
And I couldn’t quite make out the finer print when it was set to 2K.
After visiting my ophthalmologist, he mentioned that besides nearsighted and farsighted glasses
there’s a third optio;, for midsighted, which is ideal for computer use.
I ordered those glasses, boy was he right!
Now I can see the mix window set at 2K perfectly.
Best of luck…
e
for the record studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
syncing 2 external displays (hdmi)? asterix2k10 General Discussion 3 08-08-2013 08:46 AM
Apple External Displays w/MacBook Pro? anackman macOS 3 10-13-2011 10:25 AM
Splitting DVI monitor signal to multiple displays from MAC Pro? Maskeeper Post - Surround - Video 1 07-08-2009 11:54 AM
external SMPTE displays Sdesign Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-02-2006 04:42 AM
Dual Monitor displays, The G5 & Protools Stompinmsc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-17-2004 07:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com