Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2022, 10:59 AM
camshash camshash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: MI
Posts: 10
Default What determines the delay compensation of a plugin?

Sorry if this is the wrong place for this question,

What determines the delay compensation for a plug in/track?

Is it the host computers performance, or is it a predetermined number that the plug in tells pro tools what its delay is?

For the same exact plugin would you experience a lower delay comp on a more powerful computer versus a less powerful computer?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2022, 11:35 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,942
Default Re: What determines the delay compensation of a plugin?

It has nothing to do with CPU performance, audio latency is happening many orders of magnitude slower than CPUs work at. Latency is caused by the internal plugin algorithm, if the plugin is deliberately delaying all or part of the signal (e.g. to perform look ahead for a limiter), if it’s doing frequency up conversion, etc. it will have latency from doing that. The latency varies at different sample rates. The plugin knows what that latency is, the set of latency vs sample rate data is hard coded into the plugin by the developer and Pro Tools queries the plugin to get that data. Yes there are very occasional mistakes.

CPU performance and overall systems optimization determines how large a session with how many plugins you can run but not any of the plugin latency numbers themselves. The moment Pro Tools gets close to being unable to keep up with keeping everything running with sample accurate time alignment it deliberately crashes itself with an AAE CPU error.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-05-2022 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2022, 12:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,942
Default Re: What determines the delay compensation of a plugin?

And depending on what you mean by track latency, the IO buffer or disk playback buffer also add latency at input and output. As do latencies in the analog to digital and digital to analog conversions, and some additional latency interfacing to device drivers. All of which Pro Tools takes care of automatically. (you get that without enabling "delay compensation").

DSP based HDX (and older TDM) systems using HDX (or TDM) plugins don't utilize an IO buffer, except when converting back to use native plugins and back again to the DSP based mixer. HDX (or TDM) plugins are not guaranteed zero latency, any that perform look ahead or up conversion etc. will add latency. Especially true of mastering bus/limiting plugins with deliberate high look-ahead.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-05-2022 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2022, 12:32 PM
nsureit nsureit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 123
Default Re: What determines the delay compensation of a plugin?

Darryl,

These are great explanations. Easy for us less technical folks to understand. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2022, 06:17 PM
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 338
Default Re: What determines the delay compensation of a plugin?

Yes thank you! Good to grok.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio & testing software / 2nd gig: music software tutoring //
||software: Monterey 12.5.1 | PT Studio 2022.10 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB //
||devices: Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT condenser mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | 32" 4k LG secondary display //
||automation: SoundFlow | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse //
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help fixing plugin delay and delay compensation disaster prestonhavill macOS 14 12-24-2014 04:35 PM
When do you NEED plugin delay compensation? JonnyGinese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-17-2006 10:28 PM
Plugin Delay Compensation kurt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 34 12-21-2005 12:51 AM
Will PT7 LE have plugin delay compensation? Matiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-17-2005 02:27 PM
plugin delay compensation? vieris Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 06-19-2005 04:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com