Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2022, 11:24 AM
LetsJam-99 LetsJam-99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Katy Texas - USA
Posts: 4
Default Playback Issue

My Pro Tools 12 is recording just fine; but when I try to play it back there's no sound whatsoever. What can this be?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2022, 12:19 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,052
Default Re: Playback Issue

The thingy isn’t communicating with the doohickey.
Not trying to be a wiseguy (it comes naturally) but with ZERO system info, this is the best answer any of us can give you. (You’re in the wrong forum, by the way. Try the legacy section, but you still need to provide complete system details.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2022, 12:26 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: Playback Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by LetsJam-99 View Post
My Pro Tools 12 is recording just fine; but when I try to play it back there's no sound whatsoever. What can this be?
Shooting from the hip, I'd guess you are using INPUT-ONLY monitoring(tracks have the green button with the letter "I" lit)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2022, 01:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,974
Default Re: Playback Issue

It's "recording fine" because you can see the waveform or can hear the audio while recording or both?

When you play back do the track meters move and you just not hear stuff or what exactly?

Are you software monitoring or using hardware monitoring in the interface to hear audio while recording?

As Dave suggested track input monitoring "i" is not enabled on those tracks?

Those tracks are not muted "M"?

What is the playback engine set to?

Can you hear anything playing back in that session? If needed drag and drop a know good commercial mp3 or similar file into the mix window, allow it to create an audio track. Can you play and hear that?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2022, 01:30 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: Playback Issue

Shooting from the other hip If you are really new to Pro Tools, are you trying to record an instrument(like guitar, bass, keyboards) to an INSTRUMENT track? Those are for VI(Virtual Instrument) plugins. Guitar, bass, external keyboards and the like should be recorded to AUDIO tracks.

If you have some cash to spend on lessons, groove3.com is a very good deal for(IMHO) the best tutorials available. On a shoestring budget, youtube.com is actually not bad(start off looking at things like "getting started with pro tools"(without the quotes).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback issue obadiah.maina Pro Tools 2020 3 08-02-2020 06:57 PM
Playback Engine Issue (Won’t load session with chosen playback engine) MattyJones Pro Tools 11 0 11-02-2015 12:52 PM
PT 10 Playback Issue jackmackdaddy macOS 6 08-06-2012 06:26 PM
Very Odd Issue With Playback Snafu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-12-2010 04:57 AM
6.7 amd DVD playback issue? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-05-2004 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com