Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2002, 08:24 AM
Nash BBQ Nash BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 43
Default Could a cheap fw drive used only for storage corrupt PT files?

I am in the in the process of engineering my first "real" record. It is a very exciting time and I want to be safe and professional about my file mgmt.
I use a 30gig firewire Glyph as my tracking drive but that has filled with the 15 songs in progress. We bought an 80gig Fantom drive that was used for backup copies that has filled up as well. We now bought a Western Digital 7200rpm 120gig firewire for backup as well. So I will still track to the Glyph by do more dragging between that and the Western Digital for works-in-progress before burning a DVD-R.
I tried to open a session off of the WD drive (not dragging it to the Glyph)and got a DAE 9060 error. I have never gotten such an error in my year and a half in Pro Tools heaven. Now I'm not positive (it was 3am and the end of a 14hr work day) but when I took the "corrupted" file and put it back on the Glyph, I got the same error (9060). No restart. I think.
QUESTION: Can this non-supported drive damage a file if I truely just use it for storage?
QUESTION: Does option+dragging files from drive to drive several times increase the chances of errors?

You guys are the best.
Thanks.
BBQ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2002, 02:48 AM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Could a cheap fw drive used only for storage corrupt PT files?

all drives can corrupt. THe WD drive isnt more suspect thatn the glyph. The issues are more random than "supported" or not.
THe oxford 911 chip should be in ALL firewire drives you use. Check the WD and see if its got it, (if its new its probably a 911)
HAving the firewire drive plugged in could be the problem. Make sure you unplug it before you troubleshoot the transfered file again.

ALSO it may just be a DAE error, having nothing to do with the file. THe 9060 error, I believe, is the error you get from the Beta 32 track DAE engine. Restart your mac, you may be happy after that.

THere are ways to get the file back.
For example... importing the need tracks to another session, and other methods.
Let us know if anything works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAC files Transfer to FAT32 FW drive are corrupt ppine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-01-2004 11:27 AM
Audio Files corrupt on FireWire drive sphereman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-21-2003 02:44 AM
Cheap fast storage idea brett.howard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-10-2001 03:04 AM
fast scsi storage system for way cheap! brett.howard Storage Subsystems 0 09-09-2001 05:26 AM
anyone using the system drive and storage audio drive in the same SCSI chain? riorecords 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-15-2000 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com