Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2011, 10:01 AM
ThaPath ThaPath is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 2
Exclamation Digi 003 Vocal Quality Issue

So I've had my 003 for a couple months now and still can't seem to figure out why the vocals have a slight distortion when I play back what I recorded. I'm running Pro-Tools 8.0.4 LE on a HP H8-1120 [Windows 7 Home Premium - 64 Bit]. I use a AT4060 for a recording mic, which runs through an Avalon 737 pre-amp, then through a TC-Helicon Voice Live Touch Effect Mixer and finally links into my 003. At first I thought it was just my mix, but then I recorded through Adobe Audition using the TC-Helicon as the vocal capturing device and the quality is much nicer even though I was using the same mixing process. Then I was thinking that maybe the phantom power is on, on my 003, but the "Setup Guide" it comes with doesn't make it clear if the phantom power is on when the button on the back is pushed in or sticking out? Either way I'm not sure if that would alter the quality in any way but I'm just running out of ideas on to why it might be sounding like this. My microphone has it's own powering unit, so I don't need to use phantom power. I would assume it's not great to have two mic power sources on at once though.

I would just use Audition, but I feel as if I can achieve a much better sound through Pro-Tools if I fix my problem and I definitely wouldn't want all the money I had my sponsor spend on my studio go to waste.

I've been making music for 2 years and I'm only 17, but I'm very new to all this high end equipment work so excuse me if I come off as uneducated with this type of stuff.

Here is a preview of how my vocals sound in pro-tools.
You can skip into about 0:45 to get right to the vocals.
These are the best vocals I ever got out of pro-tools.
Usually there is a bit more of a distortion, but this one is just kinda rough around the edges.

http://soundcloud.com/thapath/feelingz-preview

Now here is something I recorded in Audition.
You can skip to about 0:15 to get right to the vocals.
These vocals are much more present and not so rough.

http://soundcloud.com/thapath/im-faded-preview

You might not be able to tell too much of a difference on regular speakers at low volumes, but I'm pretty sure if you listen with headphones or mixing monitors you'll instantly be able to tell.

Thanks in advanced to whoever can help me with my problem!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2011, 10:17 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,759
Default Re: Digi 003 Vocal Quality Issue

make sure you gain staging from the preamp to the effects to the 003 is balanced.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:03 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,422
Default Re: Digi 003 Vocal Quality Issue

When you feed the TC unit into the 003, you should be using one of the LINE inputs(5 thru 8) with a TRS cable. If you are going into an XLR input, you are double-preamping, which can't be a good thing. Personally, I would record straight in(mic>power supply>003 mic input) and see if that sounds clean. Then you can route a send out a line output, process thru the TC and record that sound to a new audio track. Then, using the original as a guide, nudge the new track into perfect alignment. Then you can mix/blend the 2, or just mute the original dry track.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce to disc quality issue Ginridge Pro Tools 10 2 06-22-2013 08:09 AM
Importing MP3, quality issue? DanDan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-17-2008 12:53 PM
MBox 2 Micro...Sound Quality Issue. feniks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 12-07-2007 02:22 AM
Quality Vocal Mic for around 250? Eparker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 11-08-2004 04:00 PM
Pro Tools into Finalizer quality issue Tone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-24-2002 12:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com