Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2009, 06:23 AM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

I tried to use Elastic Pitch last night on a lead vocal. I was attempting to create a harmony vocal using a copy of the lead vocal. When I adjusted the pitch the whole voice changed and sounded more like the chipmunks even though the pitch did in fact increase. Melodyne does not do this. Why then does Elastic Pitch create this problem? I must be missing something. I want to preserve the quality of the vocal while at the same time raise or lower it's pitch. Has anyone else had this problem with Ealstic Pitch?

Torchlight
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2009, 06:51 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,169
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

You want to preserve formant but change pitch. Use the Audio Suite time shift for that.
Or better if you have got xform.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:09 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,412
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

Its really the wrong tool for that job(and you discovered why). Melodyne or some other tuning program would be a better choice. Elastic Pitch is okay for changing instrument pitch and small corrections on a voice, but it does not have the formant tools you need to create harmonies.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:19 AM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

That's strange because I watched a couple of youtube videos where the engineer created a "formant-correct" harmony based on a lead vocal using elastic pitch. I have no idea how he did it. I do have melodyne uno and I will continue to use that for pitch correction and harmony creation. It works beautifully! I was just checking the limits of elastic pitch. Thanks for the replies!

Torchlight
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:30 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,169
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

Of course the best result you will get by actually singing all the voices rather than software manipulation.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:32 AM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

Of course that's the preferred way to obtain harmonies. However, I don't always have the luxury of having a singer who can do harmony.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:43 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,169
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

I understand completly. I'v also been playing around with pitch/formant plugins, but could not get the desired result. The best plugin I tried was digidesign's xform. Have you tried this ?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:20 PM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 798
Default Re: Elastic Pitch - Vocal "Formant" Issue

Elastic Pitch is surely a gimmic that was just added to make PT8 seem better.

It's seriously bad quality.

I can't ever actually imagine using it on vocals - it would be terrible.

If I was DIGI I'd get rid of it - it just cheapens Pro Tools.

Seriously, I was amazed at how poor it is.....


There's only melodyne.
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
Blocking the "P" and "F" sounds in vocal tracks. ice0-5 Tips & Tricks 6 03-18-2011 10:20 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
Power harness issue and "Rev "g" series 002R mcgwd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-19-2010 10:10 AM
Region TICK problem... not there in elastic mode but appears after "commit" ? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-04-2009 01:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com