Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2008, 10:16 AM
Starcrash Starcrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 801
Default Mute individual MIDI notes?

Is there a way to mute a single MIDI note? I expected CMD-M (Mac) to do this, but was disappointed. This would be a very helpful feature.
__________________
Pascal Garneau | IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2008, 12:34 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

No can do. This basic function is a big omission and any workaround is less than adequate.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2008, 06:38 PM
Starcrash Starcrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 801
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

Bummer. Seems like it would be really easy to add that feature.
__________________
Pascal Garneau | IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2008, 05:18 PM
CapnChem CapnChem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

delete it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:10 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

No good if it's down the Queue.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2008, 10:46 PM
Starcrash Starcrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 801
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

Quote:
delete it
I'd rather mute it, thanks. Often I like to try a part out several different ways and would like to be able to restore the original performance later if I change my mind. This would be especially useful for programming drum patterns.

The ability to mute audio regions, rather than blowing them away is a crucial PT feature for me and I'm surprised that it hasn't carried over into MIDI-land.
__________________
Pascal Garneau | IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:26 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

Quote:
The ability to mute audio regions, rather than blowing them away is a crucial PT feature for me and I'm surprised that it hasn't carried over into MIDI-land.
Let me be clear, you can't mute notes but you can mute MIDI regions.






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2008, 08:03 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

Quote:
Let me be clear, you can't mute notes but you can mute MIDI regions.
Yep. That's one of the workarounds. Separate the notes into individual regions and mute the regions.

Starcrash, another way to achieve your goal is to use playlists. Create a new playlist and delete the notes you are wanting to mute. Then if when you want to switch back, you just switch playlists. Technically, that's exactly the same as muting them and achieves pretty much the same goal.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2008, 07:06 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Mute individual MIDI notes?

Quote:
Technically, that's exactly the same as muting them and achieves pretty much the same goal.
Technically? Muting makes the note inactive, thus leaves the note on the playlist.

Ohhh... don't forget to disable Mirror MIDI Editing, for those using this workaround!







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bouncing individual midi notes remusjacobs Pro Tools 10 3 11-14-2011 07:33 PM
Possible to turn individual midi notes off? djcream 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-08-2008 04:07 PM
Possible to mute individual midi notes? minus1000 MIDI 2 01-28-2007 11:19 AM
How to mute individual midi notes? drogan88 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 11-16-2004 06:41 PM
How to mute individual midi notes? drogan88 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-16-2004 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com