Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:32 PM
Doug Farrar Doug Farrar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 75
Default Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

Reason seems like a great program but what is Ableton Live all about? I have been really "trying" to get into it and find it usefull, but I guess I don't "get it."

Is anyone else really using Live? Anyone plan on ordering the full version of it?
__________________
www.myspace.com/dfreshstudio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:43 PM
TheLP TheLP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

Quote:
Reason seems like a great program but what is Ableton Live all about? I have been really "trying" to get into it and find it usefull, but I guess I don't "get it."

Is anyone else really using Live? Anyone plan on ordering the full version of it?

Live is a very popular program, probably %25 of the people here have the full version. Its a good loop program, I find it really good for manipulating your samples. Live 4 looks amazing and I got to beta test it, and while something were a little confusing the program looks very promising.
__________________
[TheLP]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:53 PM
Ruben_B Ruben_B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 316
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

If your looking for loop software you might also want to give Acid Pro 4 a go. Im a big fan of the Sonic Foundry stuff and find Acid really easy and flexible to work with. Not sure how the price compares to Live tho.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2004, 08:05 PM
cybership cybership is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 211
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

Quote:
what is Ableton Live all about?
http://www.ableton.com/index.php?mai...design-edition
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2004, 07:54 AM
Lizzy DeVine Lizzy DeVine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

I use it all the time.. Great for drum loops and other loops..
great great great
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2004, 08:03 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

simple, flexible, powerful, rewire capable (both as client and host), vst plugins, eazy-to-use. what more could you ask for in a looper?
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2004, 08:46 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

I use it for everything I do now, as it's much more than a "loop" program. It's a full blown sequencer in it's own right. There are 2 windows you can work in with Live but it seems the Session View (vertical columns/slots) gets more attention than the Arranger (sequencer style window).

I've been recording some of the best music with it, at 24bit using my Digi002R, and now I've got full VST and midi implementation which I can also use to control my Korg MS2000. Of course, add Reason/Rewire functionality (which is tighter than a cuban cigar, btw) and you'll start to wonder why you even bother with ProTools....

I still use (and love) PT for more crucial mixes and work with video (which I can do in Live also using ReVision), but for composing, arranging and editing (which IMO, is just as easy and intuitive as in PT), I'm all about LIVE!

Just check out all the new Quicktime Movies they posted on the site, should answer many questions...

www.ableton.com
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2004, 10:24 AM
surfengine surfengine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 92
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

When I first got the 002R, I used Ableton all the time. Its quick to put together a decent sounding loop with all the samples provided.

I stopped using it tho, guess I couldnt figure out how the sequencer stuff worked.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2004, 11:58 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

Quote:
I stopped using it tho, guess I couldnt figure out how the sequencer stuff worked.
?????????????????

Perhaps it's time to visit the site and check out those QT clips. They show you almost everything you need to know about how to operate it. I'm sorry, but I can't think of an easier program to learn that Live.

www.ableton.com
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:48 PM
Doug Farrar Doug Farrar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 75
Default Re: Anyone Actually using Ableton Live...?

Thanks for the feedback guys. I wanted to see what the "community" thought about Live before investing too much time into it. There is so much music technology available nowadays, sometimes I find it can become a distraction from actually making music!

You have peaked my interest in Live and will now explore the program more.
Question: why would I use Live to put loops into a PT session rather than Reason?

DF
__________________
www.myspace.com/dfreshstudio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
playing live, ableton live best option? shabbar3 Pro Tools 9 0 07-11-2013 05:22 PM
Has anyone used a 192 with Ableton Live? megahurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-14-2009 04:18 PM
Ableton Live - performing/recording live w/HD3 Surth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-11-2006 04:50 AM
ableton live guiltypartymusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-28-2006 11:54 AM
Ableton Live Larry Pate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-26-2004 04:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com