Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:05 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Sudden Blast of Noise

PT usually works fine, but once in a while a sudden blast of noise is generated with all the fader meters going to red. Sometimes I can get the noise to stop if I bypass the plugins(nothing special, just ones that came with PT) the noise on that track will stop but if I "unbypass" the plugin the blast of noise comes back. It's not like a feedback where the the noise builds up; it just suddenly comes on. (If anyone's seen Radiohead's Meeting People is Easy, when they are recording Man of War and Thom is on the console, it's kind of like that). I've encountered the problem in 6.1.1 and 6.4. What's going on? My fraile heart and ears can't take too much more of this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:40 AM
Bigpit Bigpit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway, Mosjoen
Posts: 257
Default Re: Sudden Blast of Noise

I have the same noise.. Its the digi compressor... I reinnstalled protools, everything! And now its fine.. dunno why..
__________________
Protools 9, digi 002 rack.

CPU: Core i5 760
RAM: Lynnfield, 4GB DDR3, P55-chipset, LGA 1156
Cooler: Master CM 690 II Advanced Sort
Graphic: XFX Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5
System HD: Crucial RealSSD C300 2,5" 64GB
Storage HD: 500 GB
External HD: 500 GB
Op system: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium NO
OEM, 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:42 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: Sudden Blast of Noise

Hmm...that's funny cuz I never use digi compressor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2004, 03:53 PM
GregJ GregJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 260
Default Re: Sudden Blast of Noise

Do you have T-Racks LE (the EQ-only one that came with Bundlemania) installed?
I would frequently get a similiar sudden noise burst when using this plug in sessions. I think it would occur if I removed a T-racks plug from a track.

They say on thier website that the latest update has resolved this (it might be the full version only that is fixed, though.....I can't remember.)

hope this helps,

GregJ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2004, 04:52 PM
Sam DeFranco Sam DeFranco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Sudden Blast of Noise

Are you using a Maxtor drive? This happens to me with the Maxtor but not with my Western Digital drive.
__________________
Sam
Digi 002, Dell i8600
I Wish I Could Play Like Al
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2004, 10:11 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: Sudden Blast of Noise

I do use the TRacks EQ alot so that could be the reason. I'll have to see. Thanks.
I use western digital for the audio drive, I'm not sure what brand my system drive is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White noise blast Curt Mitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-29-2010 06:13 AM
somebody please send me the 7.3.1 noise blast fix dcrann11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-21-2007 01:55 PM
M-box Noise Blast Problem make haste 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-18-2006 09:55 AM
Blast of noise 002 :o Eman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-29-2006 10:20 AM
Noise Blast from MBox on G4 smsjr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-03-2006 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com