Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2008, 09:46 PM
djcream djcream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 116
Default Mac User Working with PC User

Hi. Can anyone tell me if my writing partner (a PC user in a different location from me) would be able to open and work with PT sessions I created on my Mac? Would the ptf file/Audio folder etc. all transfer to his PC? Does it matter which Windows version he uses? Also, does he need his own copy of PT LE? Does he need an Ilok? Or can we share my copy? (I know he would need Digi hardware but I have an extra Mbox he would use.)

Thanks for your feedback...
__________________
PT LE 7.4.2/Mac Pro 2.8 Ghz 8 Core/10Gb RAM/OS X 10.5.8/Mbox 2 Pro/MIDISport 4x4/Roland XP-50/Yamaha P-140
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2008, 06:35 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,880
Default Re: Mac User Working with PC User

He would definitely need his own copy of PTLE and his own iLok. No probs sharing data. I do it all the time. I have Mac at work, Windows XP at home. I use a flash drive for transfer, but any other platform-independent storage will do. Or you could zip it and send via ftp. Sessions made or modified on either platform open up and work just fine on the other. The only caveat is if you have different versions, you have to remember to export to the earlier version from the later one. And, of course, you need the same plug-ins, or limit yourselves to the set of plug-ins you both have.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2008, 04:44 PM
djcream djcream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 116
Default Re: Mac User Working with PC User

Thanks David, very helpful.

Does that mean that you have two licenses & two iLoks yourself? One for each of your locations?

I was hoping I could have two computers running on one license, but I guess the iLok needs to be physically plugged into each computer running PT - so that would mean two licenses for two computers? Somehow this doesn't sound quite right since that would mean that every studio would have to buy a seperate license for each computer running PT...? Is this right?
__________________
PT LE 7.4.2/Mac Pro 2.8 Ghz 8 Core/10Gb RAM/OS X 10.5.8/Mbox 2 Pro/MIDISport 4x4/Roland XP-50/Yamaha P-140
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2008, 08:55 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,880
Default Re: Mac User Working with PC User

Yes, that's correct. I think it might be possible to use one license for two computers, just not at the same time. Probably not very convenient to keep switching it back and forth. Not sure if you could use the same license for Mac and Windows, either. In my case, my employer owns the Mac copy.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legacy User Nubie again Potential PC Build and New User dj2big Windows 4 10-31-2012 09:52 PM
Is the User Offset (ADC) really working?? SD2 Pro Tools 9 5 05-24-2011 07:45 AM
New Mac user! Please help me get Pro Tools Working! djzeroone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-31-2011 01:31 PM
New mac user - long time PC user. Need to install on Mac. SixChurchStreet Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-21-2010 05:54 AM
is multiple user accounts are working? tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-07-2009 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com