Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2008, 08:38 AM
quadrivium quadrivium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 43
Default WordClock... Opinions Please

Folks:

Random pops happening when the 003R is recording, playing back or standing by when 003R is connected to external Adat devices. I have tried all options and configurations and gotten it to be minimized but not gone entirely... so I am starting to think there may be some engineering in the 003 clock section interface which is causing this and which cannot be fixed without going to an external clock source.

So please weigh in if you have an opinion or have run an 003R with other devices using an external word clock in your studio...

Here is a link to an article on using external word clocks

here two possible candidates...

http://www.blacklionaudio.com/microclock.html

http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/bigben.php
__________________
Intel 975XBX2KR
C2 Quad Q6600 2.40GH
http://www.rhodyrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2008, 08:54 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: WordClock... Opinions Please

Which version of Pro Tools are you running? There's a fix for this specific issue in the latest CS release for 7.4 - you should download and install it and see if your problems still occur.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2008, 09:17 AM
quadrivium quadrivium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 43
Default Re: WordClock... Opinions Please

Thanks for the tip, I will give that a shot. I am running 7.4 and installed it about 2 weeks ago.
__________________
Intel 975XBX2KR
C2 Quad Q6600 2.40GH
http://www.rhodyrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2008, 09:40 AM
quadrivium quadrivium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 43
Default Re: WordClock... Opinions Please

Quote:
Which version of Pro Tools are you running? There's a fix for this specific issue in the latest CS release for 7.4 - you should download and install it and see if your problems still occur.
Ok, I am looking to find the update that has the fix for my 7.4 code. I found the below info on the 7.4 download page in the cs3 update (latest is cs4 but doesn't list a specific fix for this problem), Is this it? Or is there a fix somewhere else on the site (if so, please post link)? This fix seems to mention the onboard inputs 4-8, nothing about adat inputs from external devices...thanks

Fixes Included from Pro Tools LE 7.4cs3

Fixed: When Monitoring All Inputs on 003 Factory, Random Pops and Clicks Could Occur on Inputs 4-8 (Item #101084)
__________________
Intel 975XBX2KR
C2 Quad Q6600 2.40GH
http://www.rhodyrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2008, 11:10 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: WordClock... Opinions Please

Quote:
Quote:
Which version of Pro Tools are you running? There's a fix for this specific issue in the latest CS release for 7.4 - you should download and install it and see if your problems still occur.
Ok, I am looking to find the update that has the fix for my 7.4 code. I found the below info on the 7.4 download page in the cs3 update (latest is cs4 but doesn't list a specific fix for this problem), Is this it? Or is there a fix somewhere else on the site (if so, please post link)? This fix seems to mention the onboard inputs 4-8, nothing about adat inputs from external devices...thanks

Fixes Included from Pro Tools LE 7.4cs3

Fixed: When Monitoring All Inputs on 003 Factory, Random Pops and Clicks Could Occur on Inputs 4-8 (Item #101084)
Yes, that's it. CS4 includes all fixes from previous CS versions.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2008, 05:33 PM
quadrivium quadrivium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 43
Default Re: WordClock... Opinions Please

Quote:
Which version of Pro Tools are you running? There's a fix for this specific issue in the latest CS release for 7.4 - you should download and install it and see if your problems still occur.

Fixes Included from Pro Tools LE 7.4cs3

Fixed: When Monitoring All Inputs on 003 Factory, Random Pops and Clicks Could Occur on Inputs 4-8 (Item #101084)

Yes, that's it. CS4 includes all fixes from previous CS versions.
Ok, that seems to have been the problem. I downloaded the cs4 update which then pulled in the firmware update... ran some tracks and it seems very solid now <<insert hallelujah chorus here>>..
I'm optimistic that this annoying problem is fixed....
Thanks very much
__________________
Intel 975XBX2KR
C2 Quad Q6600 2.40GH
http://www.rhodyrecords.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wordclock with LE AudioOIART Tips & Tricks 1 04-05-2005 11:53 PM
Wordclock with 002 Papawhitehead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-26-2004 08:52 PM
Do I need a wordclock? pkcraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-19-2003 04:56 PM
Wordclock? underground 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-04-2003 12:16 AM
Wordclock? simondo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-05-2000 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com