Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2021, 05:51 PM
GeoMon GeoMon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 4
Default Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

I started having issues operating ProTools First on my ancient laptop, so I figured I'd update and bought a brand new laptop PC (Windows 10 with plenty of RAM and super-speedy processors). I installed the Avid link, iLok liscence manager, and the latest version of ProTools.

Now I can't even open a project. The program starts alright, but when I tried opening a project with one of the templates I got the message:

"Project cannot be opened. The latest version of the project may have been uploaded by a newer version of Pro Tools. Please install any available updates and try again."

I exited the program, restarted my PC, and saw the project was listed as a started project. When I tried to open it I got the same message. When I started a project without the template it actually opened for a whole second before shutting down. Exited and restarted. Tried to open that one, and got the same message.

I have installed the latest updates with no success. Very discouraging. I deleted the program from my laptop and uninstalled/reinstalled it on my PC. Still nothing. Avid tech support sent me here. Can anyone help me? It took almost a year to become proficient with the program, and when it works I am very happy with it. I don't know what else to do.

Thank you.
G
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2021, 03:53 PM
m.martell m.martell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

Hi, I am have almost the same issue but with only one of my projects (Pro Tools First). I have over 20 projects on the go, and my main reference/template one is now doing this. I get the message "(Project name) cannot be opened. The latest version of the project may have been uploaded by a newer version of pro tools. Please install any available updates and try again". I did have an available update so I completed that but I'm still receiving the same error message and the project still won't open, even after the update. Quite frustrated as I was getting close to a release date and now I'm kind of stuck until I can get this back opened.

For what it's worth, the folder for that project looks the same as every other folder; all the files are still there. I've tried restarts, logging in and out as well as disconnecting the internet and trying to open "offline"... Nothing is working. Really hoping someone knows what's going on and has a fix.

I see this post is recent; maybe something with recent updates?

Thanks to whoever can help us both out!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2021, 09:09 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,844
Default Re: Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

We really need to see your system specs. “Brand new laptop” doesn’t mean a thing if it isn’t compatible. See “help us help you” at the top of the page.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2021, 01:14 PM
GeoMon GeoMon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 4
Default Re: Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

http://duc.avid.com/member.php?u=181438

I paid a computer tech from the local music community to try to get it running. After over an hour he gave up, and set me up with another DAW. I've wasted way too muchprecious time on Pro Tools. I've moved on, and would recommend just finding another DAW. There are plenty of good ones that aren't so continually problematic. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2021, 11:41 AM
m.martell m.martell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

Ok so I will say that I feel Pro Tools is the best DAW; I've tried others and maybe it's just what I am used to using but the others don't seem to compare; I digress. There is no issue with my system specs so that really shouldn't make a difference however, I'll oblige and say what I have:

Asus TUF Gaming Laptop
Ryzen 7 4800H Processor
16GB Ram
GeForce RTX 2060 Graphics Card

My system is plenty capable of running the program and does so without skipping a beat. Either way though, the project in question is the ONLY project not opening. All the other projects I have on the go are opening just fine. The files in the folder look normal, I really need to figure out how to get this opened again, or if it is just an irreparable glitch and in which case I guess I am SOL.

Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2021, 05:10 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,046
Default Re: Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

Something to consider:
A "project" is something that (usually) lives in the cloud. A "session" is something that lives on your local hard drive. Creating and using "sessions" is much better that projects. Something to consider for any/all future recording (no matter what DAW you use). The cloud is not all that reliable(especially for audio work) and "cloud collaboration" is still a work in progress(IOW, there are other and more reliable ways to collaborate on recordings)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2021, 07:07 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,844
Default Re: Projects Won't Open / "Please install any available updates and try again."

Seeing as how you never provided your system specs, I’ll venture a guess that your system was under-resourced. Pro Tools is crazily hardware-sensitive….take shortcuts on the system requirements, and it doesn’t work. That isn’t AVID’s fault, though….they very clearly post system requirements. In any event, I’m glad you found a solution and got back to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't open Projects - Can open sessions DropDaBass Pro Tools 2020 7 06-12-2020 06:17 PM
Can't open Projects after fresh install Netmania Pro Tools | First Discussion 6 08-28-2019 11:08 AM
Possible to open PT9 projects with PT8? petmar macOS 2 05-20-2011 05:25 AM
My projects won't open??? chief714 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-01-2008 06:22 PM
Can PT LE 5.1.1 open PT TDM 5.1.1 projects ? Haniel Trisna 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-27-2001 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com