Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2021, 12:51 PM
akopp akopp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 6
Default Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

We have a commercial Studio, doing mostly local and regional, bands, singer songwriter, Simple projects.

Currently running a Mac Pro 4,1 Pretty Maxed out with RAM, Drives ETC. Running ProTools HD 10 With a magma Chassis and HD3. These are the original HD PCI type cards. With 1x 192 Interface and 1x 96 IO

Mac OSX 10, pretty much where the support and updates for all of this hardware end. ( as far as i'm aware )


We are looking to possibly ditch HD all together and move this all to an M1 mac mini maxed out running the standard version of ProTools ( not ultimate )


Studio is built to 24 inputs max, When tracking, almost always are running the session clean, not tracking with plugins ETC, So not a lot of work on the computer in the tracking phase.

We have an antelope Orion 32 extra interface from a project room. that we would use in place of the Avid ones as its pretty plug and go with our DB25 cables.




Main reason for upgrading is the mac and it's limitations. ( not being able to play internet videos, spotify anything thats new and has been coded since then )

To use new VI's and plugins that are available post this system.

Over all system speed, as well as all of the new ProTools Features ETC that simply speed up and help work flow.


Wanted to see if anyone has thoughts on any reason this is NOT a good idea..
Is there any benefit in this scenario to still running an OLD Hd rig?

Is tracking latency basically no longer an issue in small sessions with the power of Computers now vs why you used to need TDM..


Is there any benefit to running an older HD rig in 2020 vs new modern ProTools native?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2021, 02:26 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 773
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Im running a dual boot system on a Mac 4,1 (firmware 5,1) ... one partition (Mac OS 10.9 Mavericks) PT10 TDM HD3 for tracking, the other partition (Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra) for mixing on PT Ultimate ... PERFECT
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB Catalina
PT Ultimate Logic DP VEPro
PT10 HD3 Mavericks
MacBook Mainstage

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2021, 08:02 AM
DimitriFP DimitriFP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 25
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
Im running a dual boot system on a Mac 4,1 (firmware 5,1) ... one partition (Mac OS 10.9 Mavericks) PT10 TDM HD3 for tracking, the other partition (Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra) for mixing on PT Ultimate ... PERFECT
@tonwurm
I've also been running PTHD10 on Mavericks since its inception, and now facing more and frustration with most new plugins being 64bit only.

May I ask what audio interface you are using ? One that works both under Mavericks and High Sierra ? I've been trying the dual partition scheme on my maxed out MacPro 5.1 to no avail, due to my audio interface.
I have indeed an old Digidesign 192 IO (Blue+Silver) with HD accel PCIe cards and it's not recognised at all by core audio from Yosemite 10.10.

It seems tricky to find a unique audio interface that will work with PT10HD TDM on Mavericks (non TDM is easier) and with later AAX only versions of PT on Mac OS 10.13

Any help from the community in doing a dual boot Mavericks and High Sierra Mac system with PT10 and a more current version would be much appreciated !

Thank you for your time !

System info:
MacPro 5.1 2x3.46 Ghz 6 Core 48gb ram MacOS 10.9.5
PT 10HD + PT11HD
HD Core PCIe + HD Accel x2
__________________
Dimitri

www.dimitrifromparis.com

System:

MacPro 5.1 2x3.46 Ghz 6 Core 48gb ram MacOS 10.9.5
PT 10HD + PT11
HD Core PCIe + HD Accel x2
Digidesign 192 IO (Blue)

Last edited by DimitriFP; 11-30-2021 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2021, 08:08 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

My advise is having a new system for new toys. Park the TDM system to where it works and keep using it as it is.

I have a PT10 system (HD3) running on Mavericks and it has been unchanged more than half a decade already. It works just as good as it worked as new, no problem. Just that TDM never got to 64bit so anything newer than that will only screw things up.

Hardest thing was to convince Waves to re-deposit older Mercury license bundle to iLok. They now want to use their own licensing, so in their eyes iLok does not exist anymore. Even if you WUP now there is zero chance you would get the licenses.

I also have a PT8 system (HD3) running on PPC G5 PowerMac and a PT6 system (MIX3 running on PPC G4 PowerMac but it is very rare I need all three legacy systems on the same live gig. Older ones are to educate some juniors.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2021, 11:56 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 773
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitriFP View Post
@tonwurm
I've also been running PTHD10 on Mavericks since its inception, and now facing more and frustration with most new plugins being 64bit only.

May I ask what audio interface you are using ? One that works both under Mavericks and High Sierra ? I've been trying the dual partition scheme on my maxed out MacPro 5.1 to no avail, due to my audio interface.
I have indeed an old Digidesign 192 IO (Blue+Silver) with HD accel PCIe cards and it's not recognised at all by core audio from Yosemite 10.10.

It seems tricky to find a unique audio interface that will work with PT10HD TDM on Mavericks (non TDM is easier) and with later AAX only versions of PT on Mac OS 10.13

Any help from the community in doing a dual boot Mavericks and High Sierra Mac system with PT10 and a more current version would be much appreciated !

Thank you for your time !

System info:
MacPro 5.1 2x3.46 Ghz 6 Core 48gb ram MacOS 10.9.5
PT 10HD + PT11HD
HD Core PCIe + HD Accel x2
I still use PT10 HD with 192 I/O and two 96 I/O for tracking, but for tracking only.

Meanwhile Im mostly working on Catalina (same machine, seperate SSD, RME USB-Interface, PT Ultimate, Logic X for Midi work).

I updated my Mac Pro to Open Core 0.72, so that its compatible with Catalina. Everything works very smooth. I think I will stay for the next 2 years on this system, at least. And then well see ... maybe a M1-Mac Pro ;-)
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB Catalina
PT Ultimate Logic DP VEPro
PT10 HD3 Mavericks
MacBook Mainstage

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2021, 12:25 PM
DimitriFP DimitriFP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 25
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
I still use PT10 HD with 192 I/O and two 96 I/O for tracking, but for tracking only.

Meanwhile Im mostly working on Catalina (same machine, seperate SSD, RME USB-Interface, PT Ultimate, Logic X for Midi work).

I updated my Mac Pro to Open Core 0.72, so that its compatible with Catalina. Everything works very smooth. I think I will stay for the next 2 years on this system, at least. And then well see ... maybe a M1-Mac Pro ;-)
Thanks for replying, which HD cards do you have connecting to the blue 192 ?
__________________
Dimitri

www.dimitrifromparis.com

System:

MacPro 5.1 2x3.46 Ghz 6 Core 48gb ram MacOS 10.9.5
PT 10HD + PT11
HD Core PCIe + HD Accel x2
Digidesign 192 IO (Blue)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2021, 12:58 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 773
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitriFP View Post
Thanks for replying, which HD cards do you have connecting to the blue 192 ?
1 HD Core PCIe, 2 HD Accel PCIe
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Installed PT HD cards.jpg (35.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB Catalina
PT Ultimate Logic DP VEPro
PT10 HD3 Mavericks
MacBook Mainstage

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ

Last edited by tonwurm; 12-01-2021 at 01:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2022, 10:51 AM
RavianSound RavianSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: NL
Posts: 5
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
I still use PT10 HD with 192 I/O and two 96 I/O for tracking, but for tracking only.

Meanwhile Im mostly working on Catalina (same machine, seperate SSD, RME USB-Interface, PT Ultimate, Logic X for Midi work).

I updated my Mac Pro to Open Core 0.72, so that its compatible with Catalina. Everything works very smooth. I think I will stay for the next 2 years on this system, at least. And then well see ... maybe a M1-Mac Pro ;-)

Which RME usb interface are you using with PT Ultimate and how are you using it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2022, 11:28 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,915
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavianSound View Post
Which RME usb interface are you using with PT Ultimate and how are you using it?
How are you using an interface? You install the driver, plug the interface into the computer and turn it on, and select that interface as the playback engine in Pro Tools ???? I am not really sure what you are asking.

That you are asking this question may mean you are missing the big point. You can use any audio interfaces with Pro Tools standard or Ultimate. Has been that way since Pro Tools 9. All versions of Pro Tools support CoreAudio interfaces (on Mac) or ASIO interfaces (on Windows). Pro Tools Ultimate in addition to this also supports DigiLink interfaces when you add a HD Native (thunderbolt or card) or HDX card. And to use DigiLink interfaces you also need a DigiLink IO license (in addition to an Ultimate license), thanks Avid.

Unless you already have a HD Native or HDX card or want more than 64x64 IO (the artificial limit Avid imposes on Core Audio and ASIO interfaces on standard and ultimate) or want the reliable low/“no” latency monitoring through plugins on HDX then forget DigiLink and go get yourself a modern interface.

And if you are not using HD Native or HDX and you also don’t need the extra software features of Ultimate, like surround sound or advanced automation support, then just get Pro Tools standard and save significant costs.

If you tell us what your computer connection, feature, IO connectivity needs are any your budget then folks here can suggest interfaces for you to consider.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 01-09-2022 at 12:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2021, 04:55 AM
DimitriFP DimitriFP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 25
Default Re: Any benefit to TDM in 2021?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
Im running a dual boot system on a Mac 4,1 (firmware 5,1) ... one partition (Mac OS 10.9 Mavericks) PT10 TDM HD3 for tracking, the other partition (Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra) for mixing on PT Ultimate ... PERFECT

@tonwurm @JFreak

Back with a few more questions :)
I've created a High Sierra boot on my MacPro 5.1 and I can now boot either in 10.9.5 to open old PTHD10 TDM session, and in 10.13.6 for a not yet installed newer version of PT
For the record, PT 11 does launch seemingly OK on High Sierra, although I didn't fiddle much to check stability - It's "unsupported" by AVID in any case


I was wondering if there was a core audio driver that would let me connect via the old accel card to the blue 192 Audio interface, not for PT but for other DAWs such as Ableton.
In 10.9.5, although PT11 doesn't "see" the 192 (as established in several threads) Ableton Live 9 64bit DOES connect seamlessly to it via Core Audio.
I've read somewhere that old PT9 drivers were working at least in Mac OS 10.11 El Capitan.



Thank you
__________________
Dimitri

www.dimitrifromparis.com

System:

MacPro 5.1 2x3.46 Ghz 6 Core 48gb ram MacOS 10.9.5
PT 10HD + PT11
HD Core PCIe + HD Accel x2
Digidesign 192 IO (Blue)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2021 with 2 iLok authorizations for Renewals & Subscriptions unkJE General Discussion 2 07-06-2021 08:07 PM
2021 Scorch still being updated?? Carl393 Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 6 04-29-2021 12:43 PM
What is in store for PT in 2021? Dave S. General Discussion 7 01-26-2021 01:10 PM
NAMM Believe In Music 2021 Avid General 2 01-21-2021 09:31 AM
Avid announces Pro Tools 2020, 2021 and 2022! off the wall Pro Tools 2018 2 04-01-2019 08:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com