Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-13-2004, 10:32 PM

Default ProTools Vs. Logic Pro 7 Vs. DP

I'm about to purchase Logic Pro 7 rather than ProTools LE and I'd like your opinions. I'm a musician, producer - a player. I like Logic Pro 7 because of all it offers, but am very concerneda bout buggyness and learning curve.

I'm told that ProTools willl do a credible job.

Message?
Old 12-13-2004, 10:45 PM

Default Re: ProTools Vs. Logic Pro 7 Vs. DP

Quote:
you have been given just the correct information
Old 12-14-2004, 02:09 AM

Quote:
I'm about to purchase Logic Pro 7 rather than ProTools LE and I'd like your opinions. I'm a musician, producer - a player. I like Logic Pro 7 because of all it offers, but am very concerneda bout buggyness and learning curve.

Message?
logic will do everything le can do and more
Old 12-14-2004, 05:02 AM

DP & Logic came from MIDI , Pro Tools came from Audio.
Check about the subject.
This makes the major difference - Pro Tools is still superior in some audio elements (though LE is limited in track count and even native power with Logic Express included)

Logic & DP offer far better MIDI capabilites.

Before you even go to that question ask yourself if you'll use more audio or midi. in my case 90% is audio and "quantizing" a drummer is still easier (even with crippled BD LE) than on other solutions.

But to play MIDI in realtime transpose? impossible with PT Internal MIDI engine .
Old 12-14-2004, 05:22 AM