Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2013, 02:52 PM
jseelye02 jseelye02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 51
Default Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

So, is there any quality/performance advantage using a BM Intensity Pro over just using my 3-output ATI Radeon HD 5770 in my mac pro for HDMI video output to my projector? (I'm running two LED monitors for Pro Tools and a 1080p projector to the screen).

A buddy of mine was telling me I "needed" one, but I can seem to figure out why... nor did he have a compelling reason. It doesn't seem to offload processing, it kind of limits what you can throw at it resolution-wise (since, through my research, it sounds like it can be picky sometimes) and it's just one more thing to not work within Pro Tools on that day when nothing works! Haha!

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2013, 03:17 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

Not gen lockable - so not great for post
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2013, 03:44 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

Also in PT <11 you don't get real full screen without an external graphics solution.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock

Last edited by Meads; 07-20-2013 at 01:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2013, 06:55 PM
jseelye02 jseelye02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

Gotcha. That may eventually be a thing, but we're probably sticking with 10 for a bit. Anything else? Those of you that have a 5770 or better and a bm card, why'd you get the card?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2013, 12:55 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

You cannot connect 3 displays on MacPro - only two. Even though it has 3 ports only two clocks are supported. So for connecting a third monitor you'll need a reclocking active device (PITA). Thus many people use BM cards or similar.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2022.4 Ultimate ● macOS Mojave 10.14.6
MacPro 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + DADman 5.5.02 + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2013, 05:29 AM
jseelye02 jseelye02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

Say what? I'm doing it right now... I have two 24 inch LED monitors and a projector coming off the card running 3 desktops. ???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2013, 08:53 AM
Dode Dode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 36
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

I have both Hd5770 and a Bmd Intensity Pro, just because i wanted a real hd fullscreen under Pt 9/10 and not just a scaled window with an unhidable ugly title bar.
Plus Intensity Pro is cheap, works well with Nuendo too, and only needs a bare Hdmi cable even for long distance (no adaptater needed), and works quite well with 1080p Prores and Dnxhd, with a very low impact on the Mac Pro cpu. It just works.
My 2 cents.
__________________
Dorian DARCOURT
SoundDesigners.Org, french sound addicts community's founder
Surround Library, Your Surround Sound Effects Source

Last edited by Dode; 07-20-2013 at 11:56 AM. Reason: Lot of typos...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2013, 11:32 AM
matt-o- matt-o- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 227
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

I am working with a 30" and a 1080p Sony beamer. I used to work with both connected to the ATI 5770, but the 10m (30ft) DVI to HDMI line to the beamer was very unreliable, I constantly had a flickering projection (though it had worked perfectly fine with my 1stGen MacPro with the Nvidia 7300 GT !!! - it seems, that the line-driving capability of the 5770 is vastly inferior to the old 7300 card, QT playback was smoother as well).
Since I changed to the BMpro the projection is without any problems and seems to me more constant in the framerate (without frozen images in between) as well.

It was definitely an improvement for me.

Greetings
__________________
MacPro 7.1 8c 3.5 GHz, 48GB RAM, HD native
PT 2021.12.0, 10.15.7
www.imdb.com/name/nm0501611/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:19 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

Signal distribution is another reason,
the 5770 is HDCP aware and a PITA if you try and mix monitor types

the 5770 will run all 3 outputs but you need an active DP to DVI adapter
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-23-2013, 06:53 AM
jseelye02 jseelye02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Why buy a BM Intensity Pro?

Thanks for all the replies!

My buddy actually brought his over and we installed it and did some tests... At least for my purposes I couldn't really see the advantage over my 5770. In fact, I can see how in some cases it would be limiting: it can get fussy depending on the codec and resolution whereas the video card, obviously, is just another screen so it'll display anything (there's always that one commercial guy that needs to see his weirdly compressed h264 on the screen NOW). And with various settings on the projector it's easy to crop out that title bar...

What's more is since my projector is connected via SDI and blackmagic converters the cable run/signal quality aren't affected either way. When A/Bing a handful of codecs and resolutions we really couldn't see a difference, both in image quality and smoothness of playback, even when in a giant 5.1 feature film mix session.

Lastly, watching both the PT system usage and the activity monitor in the OS while switching between the two there was no difference in performance, at least based on those tools.

As anything else, I'm sure in certain cases it could be really useful, I was just looking for reasons that it's better than the 5770 for my purposes... I can see how some of the higher-end cards with more features and sync capabilities would be beneficial, though.

Either way, thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt9.6 and intensity pro sven larsen macOS 0 08-28-2012 04:27 AM
BM Intensity Pro support, when? olamo Windows 4 08-09-2011 11:15 AM
Intensity Pro EarHole Post - Surround - Video 16 04-28-2011 08:49 AM
Intensity for sale mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 0 04-22-2010 05:05 PM
Blackmagic Intensity mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 7 04-21-2010 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com