Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2005, 10:03 PM
nuemes nuemes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
Default Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

I'm considering a switch to computer based recording and was looking at PC's until someone told me that MACs have much greater long-term reliability. But then my dilema is, can I get a newer MAC that works well with PTLE for under $1500? If so please specify which system in detail. I'm not much of a computer guy so this will go a long way with me. Thanks.

PS: the interface will be Digi 002rack, if that helps (total budget for the whole system is $3k)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2005, 11:35 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Of course. The Mac Mini, eMac or Low-end iMac would all work fine. There's a link at the top of the forum called 'compatibility' - if you click on that you can see what computers are approved for use with PTLE interfaces.

Since you're on a budget, have you looked into the M-Audio interfaces with ProTools M-Powered software? You can save some money that way and get a more powerful computer, and the software is just as good and their firewire interfaces are better (IMHO) than the 002r. The only advantage the 002r has is the 4 mic pres as opposed to a maximum of 2 that you get with any of the M-Audio boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2005, 03:34 AM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Quote:
(IMHO) The only advantage the 002r has is the 4 mic pres as opposed to a maximum of 2 that you get with any of the M-Audio boxes.
Unless you actually take the time to listen to the interfaces.
If you listen there is a difference in the sound quality, don't be fooled.
If budget is controlled then go refurbed, there are always good deals on refurbed units at the Apple store.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2005, 09:28 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Quote:
Unless you actually take the time to listen to the interfaces.
Like I said, it is my opinion, but having spent significant time with both varieties, I definitely recommend the M-Audio boxes over the 002's. Do you really think I would have said that if I hadn't taken the time to compare them? There may be a very slight difference in sound quality, but not enough to make either unit sound unprofessional - although a tiny bit colored, I prefer the sound of the FW1814 over the 002 as it has more warmth and airiness to it's pres whereas the 002 is a bit more cold and 'digital' sounding, for lack of a better word. The 002s converters are probably a touch better, but not enough to make a significant difference, especially using those mic pres.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:05 AM
nuemes nuemes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Thanks to both of you. I have a few outboard pre's and know how intense comparing them can be.

One more question: If my computer budget was $2000 would that allow a serious upgrade on a $1500 Mac or not much difference? This will be my first Mac so anything helps. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:38 AM
myhrik myhrik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

We may be sliding off topic here, but anyway. :P I didn't think you could open PTLE projects on PT M-powered systems, only vice versa? Or am I totally wrong on this one? This may also be a contributing factor to some who want to work on different systems.

Anyway, it's too late for me, I just returned my Mbox for an upgrade and will be recieving my 002r tomorrow! *happy*
__________________
Eirik Myhr
film/tv composer
Oslo, Norway
---
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, 8 GB RAM | 192 I/O | HD2 Accel | UAD2 Duo | Mac OS 10.6.4 | Pro Tools HD 9.02 | HEAT | UAD Plugins 5.4.1 | Novation Automap 3.0
NI Komplete 6 with Kontakt 4.0 + libraries: | L.A. Scoring Strings | Symphobia | True Strike 1 + 2 | Galaxy II | Scarbee K.G.B.
SoundToys Native 3.1.1 | Waves Ren. Maxx TDM 7.1 | Melodyne Plugin 1.0.4 | Superior Drummer 2.2.1 | Addictive Drums 1.5.1 | Ampeg SVX 1.1.3

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2005, 11:09 AM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Quote:
Quote:
Unless you actually take the time to listen to the interfaces.
Like I said, it is my opinion, but having spent significant time with both varieties, I definitely recommend the M-Audio boxes over the 002's. Do you really think I would have said that if I hadn't taken the time to compare them? There may be a very slight difference in sound quality, but not enough to make either unit sound unprofessional - although a tiny bit colored, I prefer the sound of the FW1814 over the 002 as it has more warmth and airiness to it's pres whereas the 002 is a bit more cold and 'digital' sounding, for lack of a better word. The 002s converters are probably a touch better, but not enough to make a significant difference, especially using those mic pres.
As you said just your opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2005, 12:48 PM
nuemes nuemes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

I spoke to someone who uses ProTools and he advised the only way to go is with a Dual 2Ghz G5 - which would be $2k. I can push the budget to $2k but I'd need the entire computer system for that amount (moniter, keyboard, mouse, cables). Is it possible to get a full Dual 2Ghz G5 system for $2k? Will it really make a big difference over a G5 iMac?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2005, 01:42 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Quote:
I didn't think you could open PTLE projects on PT M-powered systems, only vice versa? Or am I totally wrong on this one?
That is incorrect, the sessions are completely interchangable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2005, 01:47 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Is there a MAC for under $1500 that works w/ PTLE?

Quote:
I spoke to someone who uses ProTools and he advised the only way to go is with a Dual 2Ghz G5 - which would be $2k. I can push the budget to $2k but I'd need the entire computer system for that amount (moniter, keyboard, mouse, cables). Is it possible to get a full Dual 2Ghz G5 system for $2k? Will it really make a big difference over a G5 iMac?
Yes, it will make a difference, especially considering the G5 iMac noise issues that have been sprouting up. Are you a student? You can get a small discount on your Mac if you are, or if you know someone who is. You should be able to find a cheap used CRT monitor for less than $100 on craigslist (depending where you live), and the keyboard & mouse are included with the G5, so if you get the student discount and a used monitor you could potentially come in under $2k, it just depends on how much work you're willing to do to save a few bucks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynamics III works on ptle 6.4 vicwind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-10-2005 06:09 PM
What's the best computer under $1500 for PTLE? nuemes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-21-2005 12:24 PM
PTLE 5.3.2 works perfect. Should I upgrade anyway? lonestarparis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-26-2005 08:10 AM
works midi of digi001 on the ptle 6.1??? omen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-09-2003 04:56 AM
Going to fit PTLE in my K7. It works? even_sine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-15-2001 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com