Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2014, 09:48 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,178
Default S3 AVB support for high sample rates

The specifications for the S3 indicate that AVB is limited to 48k. Is this something that can/will be fixed in an update or is it a hard limitation?
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2014, 09:59 PM
Tom Graham's Avatar
Tom Graham Tom Graham is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1995
Location: Pasadena,CA
Posts: 412
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
The specifications for the S3 indicate that AVB is limited to 48k. Is this something that can/will be fixed in an update or is it a hard limitation?
Hi Luke,
It is something that can be updated in the future and is on the list of important enhancements to the product.

Thanks,
Tom
__________________
Tom Graham
Avid Audio Marketing
Pro Audio and Mixing

tom.graham@avid.com

Check out our Pro Mixing Webinars :
http://www.avid.com/US/resources/pro-mixing-webinars

Avid Pro Mixing Blog:
http://www.avidblogs.com/promixing/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2014, 10:03 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Hi Tom,

Thanks for the speedy reply, this is good to know!

Cheers,
Luke

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Graham View Post
Hi Luke,
It is something that can be updated in the future and is on the list of important enhancements to the product.

Thanks,
Tom
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2015, 08:08 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Hi Tom, any update on this? My S3 is arriving next week and I've a session it'd be great to use it for (but I need 96k).
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2015, 06:38 PM
Tom Graham's Avatar
Tom Graham Tom Graham is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1995
Location: Pasadena,CA
Posts: 412
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
Hi Tom, any update on this? My S3 is arriving next week and I've a session it'd be great to use it for (but I need 96k).
Hi Luke…
Not timeframe to announce yet…
Thanks,
Tom
__________________
Tom Graham
Avid Audio Marketing
Pro Audio and Mixing

tom.graham@avid.com

Check out our Pro Mixing Webinars :
http://www.avid.com/US/resources/pro-mixing-webinars

Avid Pro Mixing Blog:
http://www.avidblogs.com/promixing/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2015, 03:14 AM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 141
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Graham View Post
Hi Luke…
Not timeframe to announce yet…
Thanks,
Tom
Hi Tom,

Any update on this? 2FS would be a great addition to a wonderful surface.

Thanks

Tone
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2015, 08:51 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by teedeecee View Post
Hi Tom,

Any update on this? 2FS would be a great addition to a wonderful surface.

Thanks

Tone
It's been working fine for me since I got mine earlier this year. It's a bit fragile switching sample rates to best to stay at 96k in CoreAudio and reboot if you need to change back to 48k.
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-11-2015, 06:36 PM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 141
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
It's been working fine for me since I got mine earlier this year. It's a bit fragile switching sample rates to best to stay at 96k in CoreAudio and reboot if you need to change back to 48k.
Luke, much appreciated. I only just took delivery of the S3 and hadn't seen any mention of this in the literature - just assumed it would be a big announcement.

Thanks very much!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-14-2015, 08:31 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 563
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Hey Guys,

We just released EuControl 3.3.1 which officially adds 96k support as well as fixes a bug where you could get no audio output from S3 after rebooting your Mac. Make sure you update the S3 firmware in EuControl after installing 3.3.1 to take advantage of those changes. Installers and docs are available at account.avid.com.

Thanks,
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-14-2015, 11:26 PM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 340
Default Re: S3 AVB support for high sample rates

Sweet!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox Pro, Win 7 - 10.3.6 and 11.0.0 - playback engine does not support sample rates? lowlights Pro Tools 11 20 12-12-2014 08:47 PM
Mbox2 Micro - High sample rates jpbears1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-11-2009 08:59 PM
OS 9 / reFuse: update for high sample rates Leigh Marble Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-22-2005 12:48 AM
high sample rates: can your system handle it? wildstar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-07-2004 07:19 PM
Comparing Bit-rates, Sample-rates, and convertors - Telling the difference? stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-05-2003 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com