Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-29-2020, 01:50 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

I wish I could justify the cost of the brand new Mac Pro but that sort of investment doesn't make any sense given my current business model.

The way my studio is set up the computer is in a separate equipment room in the back of my control room so purchasing a newer iMac doesn't really work.

I do have a second cheese grater chassis in case my power supply goes or some other replaceable component like RAM. I am very intrigued by Apple's new M1 chip and I'm looking forward to seeing how that new architecture develops over the next year or so. If they put a better chip than the current M1 in a Mac Mini that might do the trick.

So despite the fact that I still don't have thunderbolt and I would like to move up an operating system or two I think the smart thing to do for me is to sit tight.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2020.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12, BabyFacePro FS
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-29-2020, 02:12 PM
pinosmuse pinosmuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

Great to stumble onto this tread.
Still running 10.13 on an upgraded 4,1(to 5,1) cheese grater, with HDX PT2020.11. Running still fine.
I'm looking to update to Mojave, but then I'll need a new graphics card.
What graphic card do you guys recommend? Most cards I find need two power connectors and I have only 1 available since HDX takes the other one.
Or do you have a workaround for that?
__________________
HDX-1 MacPro5,1 Raven MTi2, PT12.7
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-29-2020, 02:43 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

I have the MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560 128-bit 4GB GDDR5.

Works fine but you lose the boot screen.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2020.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12, BabyFacePro FS
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-2020, 06:26 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 299
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

All Mac Pro 5.1 cheesegraters here. All HDX2 with an USB3 card taking the third slot. Working on external SSD's. We are going to stick with these untill HDX is obsolete for us. Next step is upgrading the graphic cards for cheap non mac RX560x570/580 cards and that will be the last upgrade for these old trusty machines.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-03-2021, 04:57 AM
PhiltheGreek1 PhiltheGreek1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

Hi all,
Hope you don’t mind the thread jumping topic a bit here:
I have a cheese grater 5,1 / 12 core full RAM, and I use Pro Tools 12.5 HD software with symphony Mk1 usb in a hybrid summing studio. (SSL Sigma)

I find the system unreliable, lots of crashing, no side chain comp and phasing issues crop up when sessions grow so I was thinking to get an HDX card for it.
Also noticeable delays when recording automation.

I’m is there any can advice on what I can investigate in order to keep the 5,1 going for this? It isn’t flashed.
Also I understand I can just buy the HDX and link to via digilink to the symphony Mk1 (I don’t think I pay the Avid licence for using it because I’m on 12.5 HD software and Avid state it’s for 12.6 and above). Is this correct?

Thank in adv.
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-03-2021, 08:31 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

I’m in the same situation as the OP, but I’m using lots of VIs, too.
Waiting for new M1 machines, thinking about getting a new graphics card to be able to upgrade to 10.14, and move my HDX card to an expansion chassis meanwhile.
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0.157 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.1.0 | PT Control 2020.11.1.0
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-03-2021, 10:15 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

To be able to run PT on a supported OS I would need a Metal compatible graphics card.
That would, in my case, also require a Thunderbolt PCIe card and a chassis for my HDX card.
I think I’m gonna try to hold on and wait for new M1 models and the Hybrid Engine for HDX coming out.

What are the options, if any, to run Ultimate HD Native without an PCIe card, using TB or USB?
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0.157 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.1.0 | PT Control 2020.11.1.0
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Yesterday, 01:47 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 299
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

Quote:
Originally Posted by stargazer View Post
To be able to run PT on a supported OS I would need a Metal compatible graphics card.
That would, in my case, also require a Thunderbolt PCIe card and a chassis for my HDX card.
I think I’m gonna try to hold on and wait for new M1 models and the Hybrid Engine for HDX coming out.

What are the options, if any, to run Ultimate HD Native without an PCIe card, using TB or USB?
I'm not sure I understand the problem. Just grab a normal sized metal card (like an RX570, I use one with a single power connector) and you have 3 open slots left for your HDX card or other cards.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old Yesterday, 05:54 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhoof View Post
I'm not sure I understand the problem. Just grab a normal sized metal card (like an RX570, I use one with a single power connector) and you have 3 open slots left for your HDX card or other cards.
I’ve read so much about difficulties with power connections and compatibility, especially when it comes to single slot cards.
Exactly what brand and model are your RX570?
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0.157 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.1.0 | PT Control 2020.11.1.0
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Yesterday, 07:58 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,164
Default Re: PT HDX Cheese Grater roll call

I have 3 Mac Pro 3.46 12 core.
All of the systems are HDX 3's
All three of those are running High Sierra .
I purchased 3 NVIDIA Quadro K5000 4 Gig Video cards.
for them. They are the best cards to use with my HDX cards
because they only use 1 power cable.
All the above systems 64 gigs of ram each.
They are full of SSD's along with a 10 TB rotational drive
for back up in each machine.

I have another 2.66 12 core for Video that uses a Native card .
It has a stock 5770 video card, 64 gigs of ram and an Aja Kona
4 card for video being projected.

We do Immersive Mixing... Dolby Atmos Theatrical and Home Theater,
DTS X and IMAX. These systems are rock solid and are up to the task.

I will update to Mohave as soon as the project I am on is finished.
I purchased my Video cards from Gary of GSharp Music
http://www.ebaystores.com/GSharpMusic
He's the best!!
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater NoiseRoom macOS 8 09-05-2019 05:51 PM
How is Protools 2018 behaving on the 2010 cheese grater Mac? fourthtunz macOS 12 08-21-2018 08:30 AM
macOS 10.14 Mojave and “cheese grater” Mac Pros jsbach Pro Tools 2018 37 06-17-2018 01:50 AM
Best video card for cheese grater Mac and HDX? johnnyv Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 05-09-2017 02:42 PM
BEST CDRW to put in new Cheese Grater? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-13-2002 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com