Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:20 AM
RubyQueen RubyQueen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 42
Default File Size of Midi Notes In ProTools

Can anyone here tell me if midi notes have a file size? I try to delete unused unwanted audio files to keep session and folder sizes down, but I have no idea if all those midi notes I rack up and remove are taking up room or not and if so how much...haven't seen this addressed anywhere else and not in the PT documentation, so I am throwing it out to the meisters here! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2010, 12:20 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: File Size of Midi Notes In ProTools

It's a good question..

The midi data in PT is part of the session file, but I bet it doesn't take up significant space. MIDI files in general are very small compared to audio. We're talking Kbytes as compared to Mbytes so they are a couple of orders of magnitude smaller
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2010, 04:07 PM
DaveCharlie DaveCharlie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: File Size of Midi Notes In ProTools

As per the above post by flommer, Midi notes will be orders of magnitude smaller (the equivalent of a plain text file compared to an audio file).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2010, 02:43 AM
musicalavtech musicalavtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Piqua, oHIo
Posts: 509
Default Re: File Size of Midi Notes In ProTools

Export a midi file out of PT and see just how small it is.
__________________
OSX10.6.8, 1st gen Power Mac,
PT8.0.5, Mbox2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2010, 11:49 AM
RubyQueen RubyQueen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 42
Default Re: File Size of Midi Notes In ProTools

Good idea. Thanks everyone, this question has nagged at me for years.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About MIDI notes height (size) again stevegalante Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-17-2009 12:45 PM
MIDI Notes Size Issue PT8 fouronsix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-01-2009 06:23 PM
Changing the size of Midi notes in 'note' mode Violet MIDI 1 11-02-2007 07:05 AM
Different size midi notes lwilliam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2007 09:47 AM
different size MIDI notes in edit window therockstar30 MIDI 3 09-14-2006 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com