Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2024, 03:50 PM
stamasd stamasd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Easton USA
Posts: 5
Default Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

I have installed the Pro Tools Intro (2024.3) through Avid Link. It shows up as installed, however when I try to launch it, nothing happens. Either from within the Link, or from the desktop icon, or by double-clicking the .exe file in the installed location, it does not start. No window opens, no error message, nothing.

Operating system is Win11 Pro 23H2 - which is compatible with the current version of Pro Tools Intro.

The license appears correctly installed when I look in the iLok License Manager.
There are no hardware problems or conflicts in device manager.

I have actually uninstalled everything once, and reinstalled from scratch, and the same thing happens. After installation, the software won't launch.

My account has admin privileges. Even if I right-click and "run as administrator" the same thing happens: nothing.

Any help appreciated.


(edit) forgot to add, the audio interface that I am using is a Presonius Studio 24c, with its drivers installed and working correctly with the bundled software (StudioOne), if that matters.

Last edited by stamasd; 04-13-2024 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2024, 09:06 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 585
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamasd View Post
I have installed the Pro Tools Intro (2024.3) through Avid Link. It shows up as installed, however when I try to launch it, nothing happens. Either from within the Link, or from the desktop icon, or by double-clicking the .exe file in the installed location, it does not start. No window opens, no error message, nothing.

Operating system is Win11 Pro 23H2 - which is compatible with the current version of Pro Tools Intro.

The license appears correctly installed when I look in the iLok License Manager.
There are no hardware problems or conflicts in device manager.

I have actually uninstalled everything once, and reinstalled from scratch, and the same thing happens. After installation, the software won't launch.

My account has admin privileges. Even if I right-click and "run as administrator" the same thing happens: nothing.

Any help appreciated.


(edit) forgot to add, the audio interface that I am using is a Presonius Studio 24c, with its drivers installed and working correctly with the bundled software (StudioOne), if that matters.
Hi There!

Can you post a screen recording of your Pro Tools Launching?
Do you have third party plugins installed?

Thanks!
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2024, 10:14 AM
stamasd stamasd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Easton USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

I cannot post a screen of the Pro Tools launching, because it's not launching. Like I said, when I try to launch it nothing happens. No window, no error message, no dialog, nothing. So it would be just a picture of my bare desktop with nothing to see on it.

I tried with the bundled plugins installed, and without them. Even with absolutely no plugins installed, the same thing happens.


(edit) for what it's worth I made a quick screen recording where I show that nothing happens when double-clicking the shortcut repeatedly.

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/q1fqb...7icck0a5d&dl=0

Last edited by stamasd; 04-14-2024 at 10:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2024, 12:31 PM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 585
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamasd View Post
I cannot post a screen of the Pro Tools launching, because it's not launching. Like I said, when I try to launch it nothing happens. No window, no error message, no dialog, nothing. So it would be just a picture of my bare desktop with nothing to see on it.

I tried with the bundled plugins installed, and without them. Even with absolutely no plugins installed, the same thing happens.


(edit) for what it's worth I made a quick screen recording where I show that nothing happens when double-clicking the shortcut repeatedly.

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/q1fqb...7icck0a5d&dl=0
Can you give more info on your windows system? RAM? Processor? System type?
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2024, 02:47 PM
stamasd stamasd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Easton USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

It's a MSI Raider GE68HX 14VIG laptop
CPU: I9-14900HX
64GB RAM
4TB SSD
RX4090 video
Win11Pro 23H2


See the exact specs in the first column on this page. Particularly it has 64GB DDR5, 2x2TB NVMe drives, and Win11 Pro instead of Home. https://www.msi.com/index.php/Laptop.../Specification
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2024, 08:14 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,357
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

I suspect its a licensing issue. Did you have PT Intro running on another computer before this one? Are you using a physical iLok or "cloud licensing". If its the cloud(which I despise), open ILM and see if there is already a cloud session running(if there is, close it and start a new one).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2024, 12:02 PM
stamasd stamasd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Easton USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

I have never used ProTools anywhere else. It is the very first time ever I try it.
I have tried to run the license both local, and cloud. Neither makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2024, 10:42 AM
stamasd stamasd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Easton USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools Intro: installed but not launching (Win11)

Well, no resolution after a month. Software doesn't work. I've uninstalled it and will look for a working DAW elsewhere. I was planning to evaluate it to see if a paid license is worth it, but since it doesn't work at all that's off the table.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultimate keeps launching, but I just want Intro TriggletoMagneto Getting Started 1 09-17-2023 04:10 PM
Pro Tools Intro launching instead of Ultimate mixerboy12000 Pro Tools 4 06-22-2023 11:09 AM
Pro Tools Intro installed alongside Pro Tools First? Barryd Pro Tools 11 12-31-2022 10:45 AM
HELP! Installed 2nd HD Accel Card / Kernel Panic Crash When Launching Pro Tools fikafer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-12-2011 03:05 PM
Pro tools 8 LE (just installed) quits unexpectedly during launching Gate 13 macOS 7 07-05-2011 05:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com